I See a Red Door and I Want It Painted Black

One of the things I really like about fabric stores is that everyone there is making something. Our local JoAnn store is great: the employees are all in love with my son and the other customers are friendly.

Last weekend as Little Red and I were purchasing skeins of black yarn for my latest project another customer curiously asked me what I was making.

“A baby sweater.” I replied.

She was surprised.

“Oh, like with a skull and crossbones?” she asked thinking I was being wild and going all out.

“No, a lovely black cardigan with pink trim.”

I left her still speechless when we exited the store.

6 Responses to I See a Red Door and I Want It Painted Black

  1. GoofyJ says:

    Cute! πŸ™‚ I was just thrilled to find a pair of black baby socks for Jacob. Hee hee πŸ™‚

  2. fourth_fret says:

    heh. that is cute.

    what is that? knitting? crocheting? is there a difference? (i’m really inept when it comes to that kind of stuff)…

    but i want to learn to knit. (i think) because i want to make ski beanies. i love ski beanies.

  3. Proud Mum says:

    Thanks!

    Julia, it took me an entire month to find black pants for Little Red to complete his halloween costume, but he looks so stunning in the dark colours that no one think appropriate for babies that I’ve made it a crusade to make the kind of baby clothes I’d actually use to dress a baby.

    FF, I crochet. You can actually make beanies (I shudder, they shall always be touques to me) either by knit or crochet, and since it’s really coming back into vogue you can buy a little kit that has everything you need for your first project, the yarn, the needles and the instructions. I’ve crocheted since I was a young girl but only this year am I starting to do it for “gainful” reasons. It’s addictive to be able to do make something.

  4. Karen says:

    Heehee, I guess I’m not the only one, huh? (Even if I was channeling my mom, temporarily.)

    Yes, that probably makes no sense to anyone but you.

    Anyway, you know that baby girl is going to be a goth when she grows up. πŸ˜‰

  5. Proud Mum says:

    Her mother lamented the outfit she’s wearing in this photo. “I wish I had dressed her in something cuter before we came over,” Karma said. “Like her black flare pants.”

    I’ll be sure to send you photos of her as a teen.

  6. ABQ Mom says:

    I can just imagine that woman standing there dumbstruck in the middle of the store. I’m much more comfortable going to the craft department at walmart then at JoAnn’s, people actually expect you to be super crafty there. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

