Yesterday

A friend sent me a reminder email yesterday, to remember the girls and the day. I thought of them all day as I went about my superbly un-feminist activities of diaper changing, housekeeping, crocheting and tutoring. I was going to blog about them last night but was too caught up with my projects, but I thought about them.

I’m not that different from them. I chose a different course of study, but what remains the same is that I, too, was a woman who chose to be educated. And I thought all day of this quote:

“When I think of that poor young girl who, lying on her stretcher, said that she wasn’t even a feminist, I feel like crying. When I think of that girl in the classroom, the only one who tried to reason with the killer, crying out: “We’re not feminists. We’re only women who want an education,” I feel like screaming.” (excerpt from “Letter to the Media” by Louise Malette, The Montreal Massacred (gynergy books 1991).)

National Day of Remembrance & Action on Violence Against Women, Wednesday, December 6, 2006

We must never forget…

GENEVIÈVE BERGEON , 21 years

HÉLÈNE COLGAN, 23 years

NATHALIE CROTEAU, 23 years

BARBARA DAIGNEAULT, 22 years

ANNE-MARIE EDWARD, 21 years

MAUD HAVIERNICK, 29 years

BARBARA MARIA KLUCZNIK, 31 years

MARYSE LAGANIÈRE, 25 years

MARYSE LECLAIR, 23 years

ANNE-MARIE LEMAY, 27 years

SONIA PELLETIER, 28 years

MICHÈLE RICHARD, 21 years

ANNIE ST-ARNEAULT, 23 years

ANNIE TURCOTTE, 21 years

2 thoughts on “Yesterday

  1. I don’t know these women, or even this situation, but we should always remember each other.

    Women need other women…always!

  2. Laural,
    Karen has a link on her blog to her post from last year which goes into more detail. These women were shot by a man who wanted to “put women in their place” and quell the feminist movement.

Leave a Reply

