The Night Before Christmas

‘Twas the Night before Christmas
And all through the house
Not a creature was stirring,
And I felt like a louse

Our kitchen, most of all
Was silent and still
And would remain so,
For Tuesday, until.

Despite my late night
I was up with the son
I got a last-minute plea
To teach nursery, fun!

(Not long into the class
Did I understand
The anxiety Little Red
Presented at hand

Those older kids
Really are ready to leave
And when they left early
I sighed, a reprieve!)

While planning the lesson
I wanted to bake
And first I must clean
But the sink a problem did make

A most horrid morning
Of plunging and more
Until after church
We called the landlords, a chore!

We ruined their Christmas
It wasn’t our fault
They seemed to forget
Our plans came to a halt

We had to go out
To get us some dinner
The ox was in the mire,
Please don’t think I’m a sinner!

A humbling experience,
A reminder, most of all,
That while today was so sad
At least we aren’t in a stall!

The very first Christmas
More humble than this
I can get over it
And I musn’t hiss.

Christmas is not
About everything being right, so
Happy Christmas to all
and to all a Good Night!

4 thoughts on “The Night Before Christmas

  1. Sorry abou the tough night, we had a bit of a rough one too. We were looking at the Christmas lights in the car when Emmy threw up, then Dorothy followed suit at home a few hours later. Nothing like kids being sick on Christmas and not being able to eat all the yummy food. 😦

    Hope you had a much merrier Christmas than you did on Christmas Eve, we did! 🙂

    Merry Christmas!

  2. Hmm…plumbing problems must travel by internet the same as colds! We had leaky pipes too! (but ours was in the bathroom instead of kitchen!)

    I hope you had an excellent Christmas!! 🙂

  3. Sorry to hear about your horrible Christmas eve! I wish your landlords wouldn’t feel that it was your fault…

    Merry christmas Heather! Have a fabulous new year!

Leave a Reply

