Escape

Today was the first day we weren’t housebound either making phone calls or waiting for someone. I’m pretty sure that being cooped up was negatively affecting our moods and with all the things that have been stressing me out and going wrong lately I really didn’t need one more thing making me feel any more depressed. The sun was shining, it was 65 degrees, and we were ready to brave the mall two days after Christmas.

But we are smart. We go to the mall when it first opens — no crowds! I went with purpose and quickly found the first item on my list: next year’s Christmas pyjamas for the boys. I had to assume that number 2 will grow like number 1 did, but that worked out well because then I could get the ones I really liked best. With tax the whole purchase was $7.56. I never did find the second item on my list: thermals for Little Red for our upcoming trip to Chicago. What was I thinking? This is LA. It didn’t matter. I left feeling better than I have in days. It was a small thing, but for a tightwad like me, putting seven dollars on the credit card sure brought me some cheer to combat the small things have been so overwhealming and sad.

3 Responses to Escape

  1. Karen says:

    Nothing like a little retail therapy. Oh, and getting to your destination early to beat the crowds is a good thing! We did a lot of that recently, too.

  2. April_Mommy says:

    I have found that traveling can effect my mood in a negative way as well… ahh well I shall have to go find some of that retail therapy soon.

  3. Anonymous says:

    foot pajamas?

    i don’t know why that’s important for me to know, it just is.

    and man, anything to help pull you from the doldrums is a good thing in my book.

Leave a Reply

