To My Unborn Child

Since the moment of your conception, your existance has been secondary to the chaos that is our life.  I’m very sorry.  We really love you and are very excited to see you.  You have already blessed and enriched our lives in a time I wouldn’t have imaged a baby to do so.  I know you will continue to be a blessing in our family.

I’m sorry that I haven’t been the mother for you that I had for your brother.  I haven’t been as rested or relaxed, I haven’t been as good at following that diet or getting my exercise.  I have only nine more weeks before you’re here.  I know it won’t make up for the previous weeks and months of neglect, but I commit myself to you right now.

This time is about being ready for you.  I will do it right.  I love you.

4 Responses to To My Unborn Child

  1. feathersky says:

    It’s always harder to find the same time for baby #2 as you had for baby #1. I keep thinking, wow, I NEVER let Jaedin watch TV when he was Jenacy’s age, and…well…you can probably guess what they’re doing right now 🙂 Circumstances and life change in the time between #1 and #2. Do as much as you can, but don’t give yourself a hard time when you fall short.

    You know Little Red would say YES! if you asked him if you are a good mom.

    If Little boy Blue could speak he’d say the same 🙂

  2. GoofyJ says:

    Just wait until it’s baby number 4… there is NO time with all the attention the other children demand. I think you are a great Mom, and I, like Feathersky, would say that your kids would heartily aggree with that. 🙂

  3. aprilmommy says:

    Oh heather, please don’t be so hard on yourself! You are a fabulous mom! The very fact that you actually care that the baby hasn’t had your full attention says volumes. You will be fine when the time comes!

  4. abqmom says:

    What GoofJ said is what I wanted to say on the phone the other day but wasn’t sure it would come out the way I wanted it to. The fact that you care says a lot.

    Now that I’m not as sick I sometimes even forget that I am pregnant with #3 because I’m so busy with the other two…

Leave a Reply

