Competition in All Things

My last year of teaching was in an amazing school in a beautiful residential area.  The children often played near or at the school after school hours and knew all the comings and goings of the school staff and faculty.  As I was only one of two new teachers that year, it didn’t take my students long to learn my car.

As fifth grade students are prone to be competitive, a competition emerged as to whom had seen my car at school at the most obscure time.  Each trying to outdo the previous with content and presentation, it usually went like this:

“I saw Mrs. Phillips’ car at 7 o’clock in the morning!”

“I saw Mrs. Phillips’ car at 7 o’clock at night!”

“Yeah?  Well I saw Mrs. Phillips’ car on a Saturday!”

“I saw Mrs. Phillips’ car at 7 o’clock on a Saturday!”

“Well I saw Mrs. Phillips’ car on a SNOW DAY!”

“I saw Mrs. Phillips’ car at 7 o’clock on a snow day!!”

(Meanwhile, my poor husband was wondering, “where is Mrs. Phillips?”  It’s one of the reasons I hope to not return to teaching full-time.)

3 Responses to Competition in All Things

  1. sleepyfrog76 says:

    Ches’ students used to say the same things about him. He wouldn’t consider it a successful day if he saw the principal’s car at school before his or if the principal’s car was still at school when he left. 🙂 The “legend” that preceeded Ches several years earlier ran into Ches at a store once. He pulled Ches aside and said, “I hear you are spending too much time at the school. Go home after school. Don’t come in on weekends. You need to relax a bit.”

    It’s supposed to get easier after the first couple of years, though.

  2. feathersky says:

    I didn’t know teachers had to be at school so long!

    Although when Nathan was a flight instructor he was generally at the airport at least twice the amount of time as the actual flight. It got really frustrating sometimes! I’m glad we’re past that!

    It’s not a requirement that teachers be at school so long, but new teachers (and overachievers) find it necessary in order to get everything done.

  3. Karen says:

    I am thinking this blows your anonymity somewhat. (I know it was important to you at one time. Not sure how you feel about it now.) I love the story, though, Mrs. P.

    Yeah, I thought about that, but the story was just wasn’t the same without.

Leave a Reply

