New Beginnings

I bought my bulbs in a six-pack at the 99Cent store, not even at Virgil’s or a fancy nursery.  I placed one in a glass jar over some marbles with barely enough water to reach the bottom of the bulb.  I left the bulb in the coldest, darkest room of the house: the downstairs bathroom.

In two weeks it had roots and shoots. 

I love to sprout bulbs this way because it reminds me so much of our own lives.  In reality we don’t need a lot of enrichment and nourishment for us to grow.  We came to earth as perfect little bulbs, containing everything we need to become a beautiful flower.  With only a little bit of water we can grow, even if we are in a very rocky environment.

It occurred to me that most of the growth we do as humans is not so much importing information or skills into ourselves but rather developing something we already have within ourselves.  As we read and think about the importance or significance of things in our own lives we are developing awarenesses within, and as we work on new skills we are starting with the talent or interest we found inside.

My bulb was able to grow in a very rocky, unnurturing environment but I have since moved it to the windowsill for some sun and will soon move it out to a planter with soil.  After all, just because it CAN grow on its own doesn’t mean it wouldn’t benefit more from some nurturing.  And just as I am going to do all I can to fertilize my plants I will do the same with myself.  I hereby recommit myself to nurturing my relationship with God, with my family, and with myself, and as the cliche says, to try a little harder to be a little better.

4 thoughts on “New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

