Brotherly Love

Little Red has been better than great as a big brother.  I’m worried already, three weeks post partum, that I’ve forgotten some of his golden events.

The second he walked in my hospital room he greeted us, “Hi Mummy!  Hi Brother!”  He didn’t wait for introductions or an adjustment period.  He wanted to hold his brother right away and told me a couple of times, “get better, Mummy.”

That night, after my husband put him to bed, he snuck back downstairs.  “Daddy,” he said, “Mummy’s not here.  I sleep in your bed.”

The next day, when Early Bird and I came home, he proudly sad in his car seat beside his new brother and proclaimed to us “Early Bird is holding my finger!”  They sat like that the whole way home.  At home, he presented EB with his favourite cars whenever EB cried.  “Here, EB, here’s Sheriff/Doc/Ramone.”  At one point he lay down on the floor beside EB and said, “Hi, Early Bird, I’m Little Red.”

Whenever he comes into the room and sees me but not Early Bird he asks, very concerned, “where’s Early Bird?!?” and he delightedly (albeit loudly) greets Early Bird with an enthusiastic “Early Bird!!!” whenever the baby is “found” (sleeping.)

There’s more, there’s so much more, and I hope I spend the rest of my life chronicling the love they have for each other.

4 Responses to Brotherly Love

  1. feathersky says:

    That is so sweet!!! That is really just precious! I hope they are best friends forever! I’m so glad they get along so well!

    (OK, and I’m slightly jealous because Jaedin HATED Jenacy when she was born!!! His only purpose in touching her was to try to hurt her. He literally sat on timeout for an entire month after she came home. But now they’re the best of friends, so it’s all good) 🙂

    Well, I’ll be honest, not every moment is so beautiful. In fact, there are moments when I’m sure I’m only one minute away from being one of those mothers on Nanny 911. I just think it’s really important that I focus on the positive. 😉

  2. Nicole R. says:

    What wonderful moments to chronicle — thanks for sharing them.

  3. Jess says:

    thank you for all your comments on my blog. i really appreciate your insight.

    Oh, you’re welcome. I just can’t help but talk about babies and breastfeeding; it’s my life! I’m glad you don’t think, “ah crap, not this lunatic’s two cents again!”

  4. ABQ Mom says:

    Those first few weeks are full of so many firsts. There were many tender moments shared between W and his new baby sister, but then at the same time there were moments when he’d haul off and smack her across the head. They’re great friends now but it appears that they still have their moments when they need to try to show each other who’s boss with a good “toddler-sized beating”… It’s good to focus on the positive, if we let ourselves focus on the negatives too much it will jsut bring ourselves down too.

Leave a Reply

