Blessing Gown

I was really down to the wire yesterday. With my husband’s family coming in earlier than I had expected, and all the festivities surrounding that, I was really pressed for time. It got to the point when I realized that since we were going out to dinner in Pasadena on Saturday night, that I no longer had the back of plan of hitting the mall in case I didn’t finish in time. I was desperately determined to get it done, to finish my commitment and accomplish something more than diapers. (I’ll admit that much of the housework suffered this week as a result.)

It was like labour. I began resolute and optimistic. I knew it was a big task, but I felt prepared and knew I was capable. Beyond the halfway point I hit transition, the period of self-doubt. I became very emotional, questioned what I was doing, and nearly talked my way out of it. As soon as I overcame transition I slipped easily into the second stage and finished the gown just in the nick of time, in the car, on the freeway.

Now, if anyone has sent me an email or any other correspondence, I’ll try to get to it in the next week. I’m a little backed up with the rest of my life.

5 Responses to Blessing Gown

  1. feathersky says:

    HURRAY!!!! You got it done on time!!!!!!! Way to go! It looks just gorgeous! I’d love an email with a photo of early bird wearing it πŸ˜€

    flickr; just make sure you sign in so you can see the non-public shots

  2. alyson says:

    Congratulations on finishing. I try to do something like that each time I’m pregnant, but then I make a huge mistake and give up or I pass it to my mom to finish. Regardless history has told me to not even try this time.

    You’ve really got enough going on in your life this time around that no one could blame you for not wanting to try.

  3. danawillard says:

    Wow! I’m uber impressed with your skills. And I’m happy to know you have a blog. Now I don’t have to just stalk your flikr pics.

    Yes, I try to provide many stalking opportunities to those who know me. (You know, at the bottom of all of my emails was my blog link. πŸ˜‰ )

  4. Hi!! I am trying to meet as many mommas on here as I can! I saw your comment on Jess’s page and thought I’d like to add you!!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  5. ewokmama says:

    That is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

