There’s a Lot of Me in that Kid

It didn’t bother me that since he was born everyone has marvelled at how much he resembles his father, Little Red and I had a bond that went deeper than looks.  So what if he also has his father’s sleeping habits?  I know he’s mine, too, and knew that someday he’d start showing me that he’s related to me, too.

That day has come.  We got some new toys in a baby gift yesterday.  I inserted the batteries and hung up both magnets and Little Red spent the entire day yesterday (and already this morning) playing both toys’ music simultaneously.  It’s a cacophony of children’s music juxtaposed in a seemingly haphazard way.  I can’t even be annoyed (unless I’m on the phone to my mother, then I took them away) because all I can think is, “this is how my keyboard harmony class felt.” 

I can totally understand how fascinated he is with playing both at the same time.  Maybe there’s hope for the boy after all?  Maybe he’ll be a modern composer, or maybe he’ll just be another math geek, taking after the men in my family?  It doesn’t matter, all that matters now is that he’s acting like me.  That pleases me immensely, even though the tired old lady in me doesn’t like to hear that noise over and over and over and over and over and over.

6 thoughts on “There’s a Lot of Me in that Kid

  1. It starts small. It’s likely to expand as time goes on. And become less delightful, but you don’t have to think about that just yet. 🙂

  2. I love seeing things in Logan that are so definitely me. And then there are things in Logan that are so definitely Jeff. And of course, there are things in Logan that are most definitely just Logan. I remember the second after he was born, the first thing I said was “My god, that’s my dad’s eyes!!”

    As he’s growing up more and more daily, I see so much of Jeff in him. He’s as confident in himself as Jeff is, he’s as focused and single minded as Jeff can be, but he talks as much as I do…blessing or curse? I don’t know! But he’s highly social and very adaptable in social situations, both are me. He adapts to change like Jeff does in his overall life, but seeing ourselves in our children is such a great gift!

    As an example of his singlemindedness, he’s currently making an “airplane”. It’s a piece of paper balled up and being thrown around. He’s so focused on it right now, it would take time to get his mind onto something else. His dad can be so like that…as I’m sure you’ve seen in the past! I’ve heard the words “Im making an airplane” about fifty times in the time it took me to write this comment!!

  3. just get him a couple of sticks and multiple pans so he can beat the tar out of ‘em. he needs to test every type of noise possible before he can really settle on the right one. heh.

    Ahh, yes, he loves the wooden spoons with the pots and pans.

  4. That is awesome – I love seeing that too. One of the things that I loved was the addition of rhythm instruments in our home. We play them to music or my playing, and it is awesome. I find the noise doesn’t bother me if I have music going, and especially if I am playing along with them. The realization that they love music as much as you is so wonderful.

    We have maracas, bongos and a tongue drum in addition to the household rhythm instruments (like pots and pans.) Little Red is also an expert recorder player.

  5. Oooooo, you definitely need a drum set!

    Not only would that be super fun for all my boys (husband included) but it would serve a double purpose of fueling our neighbour’s hatred of us! Score!

  6. Sounds Familiar: We have two magnet toys that sit on the fridge that play the alphabet song when a button is pushed. Will pushes one then pushes the other so it’s an echo. A, B,C… A, B, C… It’s funny, sometimes annoying, very loud. Especially because he can’t decide which one to sing along with.

    It is nice to know that they do appreciate the things that we devoted our lives to a long time ago. I thought Will was gonna be a music hater, now he sings all the time and requests certain songs to be played in the car. Syd says “sing mommy!” when we’re driving.

Leave a Reply

