Forty-Five Minutes of Zen

After a phone call at 6:30 this morning, and on the heels a minor break-down last night, I didn’t crawl back into bed for another 30 minutes of furtive rest.  Instead I stayed downstairs and completed my postnatal yoga workout for the first time.  I may not have been sleeping, but it’s the first time since motherhood that my workout didn’t look like this, or this.  It was very nice.  I think I can handle today.  (That is, until I accept the realization that we can’t afford to go to Canada this summer.)

One thought on “Forty-Five Minutes of Zen

  1. My first thought was “what a great idea, this would help all that stress I am feeling” (extended family issues with an evil sister in law – bro’s wife who is trying to wreak as much havoc on the fam. as possible, among other things). Then I read your morning work out (written before I started blogging, so I hadn’t read it before) and after laughing hysterically, I realized that should I do yoga, this would pretty much describe me and that maybe I had best find a different outlet for my stress. heh. 🙂

    Well it will be a long time before I’m able to achieve “quiet mind”, but it does help even when my brain goes elsewhere. I highly recommend a regular yoga practice. There’s so much good that can come to you it doesn’t even matter if you can never do lotus pose (I can’t comfortably, and I’ve been doing yoga -not continuously- for five or six years.) If you do want to get started, send me an email and I’ll send you my recommendations, not all yoga videos are created equally.

Leave a Reply

