Love

My Mum told me after Little Red was born, “you love those whom you serve.”  We serve our children most, was her implication, and I was probably nursing Little Red at the time.

As I watch Little Red play with Earl Bird, kiss him, hold his hand, and offer his nose for a buffet, I marvel at his tenderness and complete lack of malice.  He truly loves his little brother.  There’s no “I love him because I serve him” or even “I love him because he loves me.”  With Little Red, he simply, purely, loves, with no condition.

I, on the other hand, have a lot to learn.

6 thoughts on “Love

  1. I’ve always only semi-agreed with the “love those whom we serve thing”

    I’ve “served” plenty of jerks in my life and I can honestly say that unless pity counts I didn’t love them. I think we serve people whom we truly love – but I also think that love and service are similar but not necessarily directly related – they’re cousins or 2nd cousins at best.

    I’m glad Little Red is such a great guy, and a lot of that is just his personality, but I also think that kids especially treat others how they expect to be treated and how other people generally treat them.

  2. I loved your post. I guess that’s what “become as a child” means. Thanks for helping me see it in a new light.

  3. I think we all can learn a lot from little red. I wish my kids loved like that, and they do, but now they love the babies until they are old enough to take away the toys. 😉 Great post.

    I’m sure your kids love like that, too. It’s hard being a kid in a big family (trust me.) But I remember I always loved my siblings, even if I hated what they were doing so much it made me crosseyed. 😀 Sound familiar?

  4. Little people can teach us so much. I’ve found myself much more open since having Logan. More willing to question and answer questions, more willing to accept and be accepted. My own life has changed so drastically since having him and now with Olivia, I’m learning again.

    Remember in high school when we thought about our lives? Are you the person you thought you’d be? I’m not. I had no idea back then what love really was.

  5. Astute observations! I was recently thinking about the difference in my love for my child compared to my love for my husband. It’s funny to me that I don’t have “reasons” why I love my son, but I often find myself thinking about the things I like and dislike about my husband. I wish I could just have a blind love for my husband like I do for my son. I just don’t understand the difference…

    I am the same way! I can’t believe loving our kids just happens and loving our husbands sometimes takes effort.

Leave a Reply

