If. . .

If I could be just a mother for a day. . .

If I could be the mother without being the accountant, the secretary, the chef, the maid, the activities’ director for a dozen people . . . If I didn’t have to spend my days working on insurance and worrying about whether my passport is ever going to get here.

If all I had to do for just one day is care for my boys, then maybe I’d feel more like myself.  But that’s not going to happen, so I need a break.

I leave you with this, and I’ll see you in a few weeks:

Motherhood is paid in peanut butter kisses and squirmy hugs, spit-up for lotion and a high tolerance for gross things.  Mothers are sleep-deprived and often lacking in her own personal needs.  Motherhood is paid in toothless grins and sleeping angels.  Some days that’s enough.

6 thoughts on “If. . .

  1. I love your closing sentiment – no matter how hard things get there are days when just the smile and hug from your children is enough to heal the wounds of frustrations of the day. I hope everything works out and we will miss you in the meantime.

  2. Amen!

    My husband sent in his American passport at the beginning of April and didn’t get it until last week. We thought it may have gotten lost in the mail or something.

  3. I didn’t know you were going so soon! When are you coming back. I’ll miss you but try to have fun without me. (I know it will be tough.)

    You wrote this comment when I was on the plane on my way home. Wierd, eh?

Leave a Reply

