Loosing Sight and Gaining Perspective

By the time I finished my post on Tuesday morning I couldn’t see.  Assuming that the computer was too much strain after what my eyes had endured the day before, I lay down to rest my eyes.  With time, however, things did not improve.  It was nearly time to take the boys to Guy Smiley’s checkup and I was getting very concerned.  I called the Kaiser hotline to make an appointment but as it was the first morning after a long weekend I was placed on hold so I just loaded up the boys and we headed off.  I prayed that Dr. Waldron would tell me whether what I was experiencing was normal, or whether I should get back on the phone and make an appointment.

I’m glad we live close to the Kaiser offices and I’m in the habit of walking — I could not have driven.  As it is, the walk was a little scary.  My eyesight was so bad it was as though my glasses had been dipped in vaseline.  I kept taking them off to clean them but my eyesight was no better without the glasses and the glasses were clean.  When walking I didn’t know if I was approaching a pole or a person unless the person waved.  Crossing the street was only okay because I could identify a bright red blurr for the red light and a bright green blurr for the green light.

I didn’t know what was going on, but I didn’t remember anyone complaining of allergies complaining that they were also going blind.  If it was normal then I was ready to just deal with it and cancel my tutoring until I could both drive and read.  But if it was not normal and things were deteriorating at that rate I was not willing to lose anymore.

I thought a lot about my mother-in-law who had corneal transplants when her youngest was an infant.  It brought me comfort to know that even if the worst was happening to me that there was someone in my family who had endured so much more and survived, and that I would have her as a source of strength if things went south for me.

I thought also of Paul, who picked up a nasty virus from the beach when we were in Hawaii.  By the time he saw a competant doctor (not the ones from the health clinic on campus) his corneas looked like sandpaper.  He had to drive from the north shore into Kailua essentially blind, and he did so without accident.  It was scary.  Neither his teachers nor the doctors at the clinic ever believed what was going on.

The boys’ pediatrician not only listened to my mildly hysterical, “I don’t know if this is normal or not” speech, but wasn’t surprised at all that I was having problems, “with all these fires there is so much crap” (she whispered, after all, Little Red – the sponge – was in the room) “in the air.”

She prescribed me some drops which I picked up at the pharmacy on my way out of the building (have I mentionned lately how much I love Kaiser?) and with two treatments under my belt I was safe to drive up to La Crescenta.

The pain is gone, the redness is diminishing every day, and my eyesight has returned to normal.  For my part, I have greater respect for my mother-in-law, my husband, and everyone else who has had eye problems.  It was scary to not be able to see, and I hope I never go through that again.

4 thoughts on “Loosing Sight and Gaining Perspective

  1. Scary! When ethan was a babe he scratched my eye in the middle of the night. When I woke I couldn’t see the clock. I was scared that he may have done perminant damage. Thankfully he didn’t but I was quite worried.

  2. Wow, that’s scary!!! I’d be hysterical too! I’m glad everything turned out okay and you were still able to go to work. Did that go well?
    I hope your eyes get all better soon! 🙂

  3. I’m so glad the boys’ pediatrician took the time to listen to you. (That’s so rare nowadays). I’m also glad the drops are helping. I don’t think it was allergies, but that’s my personal opinion ( I did see you in person afterall 😉 ) but happy to hear your eyesight is improving.

    Be forewarned; if you ever decide to get lasik it will be the weirdest experience you will ever have. Ask Shane sometime.

Leave a Reply

