Gratitude, a post by a junkie

It’s happened several times since Boy Blue was born that I’ve had such awful mid-back back pain that it’s caused spasms to adjoining muscles and a lot of lost sleep for me!  Last night I could feel it coming and proactively took a motrin (thank you childbirth medications!) before I went to bed.  I wasn’t able to immediately fall into my muscle-relaxing slumber so the next few hours were fitful at best, and certainly not restful. 

At 1am I applied the IcyHot and Paul rubbed my back.  Just as I felt ready to finally sleep Boy Blue woke up.  I went to sleep at 2:30.

At 4 I woke up.  It had only been 6 1/2 hours since my last horse pill, and not the required 8, but I knew I was headed for trouble so I stumbled downstairs for a second dose.  In the interim waiting for the ibuprofen to kick in I was in a lot of pain (but again, not as much as I would have been if I hadn’t taken the first pill!  Thank you, again, childbirth medications!)  It was 4 am and I was slouched on the floor in the bathroom scraping the last of the IcyHot out of the tube with my fingernails.  I was a junky, grateful I hadn’t cut my nails like I had planned the day before.

Thank you childbirth for sending me home with ibuprofen stronger than what my husband got for his back pain!  Thank you children for distracting me so that I didn’t cut my nails!

Things kicked in and as my body turned to jelly and molded into the horrible dip in the bed and I settled in for some much-needed rest, Boy Blue woke up.  (I am grateful that he didn’t time any waking with when I was feeling at my worst.)

Finally I went to sleep at about 4:30 or 5.  The boys let me sleep until 7.

Sleep log: a total of 4 ish fitful hours full of odd dreams and the unmistakable smell of IcyHot.  I’m pretty sure some yoga would help my body, but I won’t make it another hour if I don’t take a nap.  I’m just going to have to stop at the store on my way home tonight and pick up some more IcyHot.  I picked the tube clean this morning.

5 Responses to Gratitude, a post by a junkie

  1. mcinsane says:

    Wow! Sounds awful! I am one of those people who NEEDS her sleep! I would be such a huge grouch if I had had a night like you! A couple of weeks ago, I only got 3 1/2 hrs of sleep, because of my own stupidity, before having to go to work. It wasn’t my best day! I’m sure you handle things better than me! Good luck on getting more sleep tonight! 🙂

  2. abq mom says:

    I’m sorry you’re still having muscle pain. I truly hope things improve. All in all the fact you can find things to be grateful for is beyond me!

  3. feathersky says:

    Ouch! I hope the back pain eases up! I sometimes get back spasms when I’m pregnant, but not normally. I remember them hurting like crazy! I hope you get yours solved! And good job staying positive even though you haven’t had sleep!!!

  4. GoofyJ says:

    So sorry you in so much pain – I hope thngs get better. You are a great example of finding the silver lining. 🙂

  5. I remember the back pain. I felt like the first 6 months I was bent over just changing diapers and giving baths.

Leave a Reply

