Fresh from the Garden

10315_1-small-file.jpg10315_1-small-file.jpgLast night I finished Little Red’s costume, having finished Boy Blue’s the night before.  It was late, but I am so happy they are done!  Little Red danced around in his costume all morning, proudly proclaiming:

“I’m a carrot!”

Two months ago when I asked him what he wanted to be for Hallowe’en he named his betrothed.  Once I told him I was unable to help him with that, he said thoughtfully, “um, a carrot!”  He kept up with the same answer for a month so I knew it was time to get cracking.  He is actually two carrots, as he has two legs. 

And what of Boy Blue?  Well, peas, of course.  My boys are peas and carrots.  I’m over my anxiety of people thinking he’s a pumpkin.  How can anyone think he’s a pumpkin when he goes around proudly announcing his carrot status?  And anyone who does think he’s a pumpkin instead of carrots has no imagination; instead of being offended I’m just sorry for them.

So here you are, folks, our yearly photos:

Halloween 2007 – Peas and Carrots

Peas and Carrots, Halloween 2007

Halloween 2006 – Monkey

Monkey - Halloween 2006

White Trash Family

White Trash Family - Halloween 2006

Halloween 2005 – The Coppertop Kid

10295_2-small-file.jpg

Rock ‘n’ Roll Halloween

10315_1-small-file.jpg

9 thoughts on “Fresh from the Garden

  1. So cute!! Excellent job!
    I think my favorite part is the carrot top head with all the green curly stuff.
    You’re an excellent seamstress. I’m sure everyone will love them. (aren’t you excited that you get to make 2 costumes a year now??)
    I like the costumes of the past too. The copper-top is very creative.
    Glad you’re done….I’m just starting! ugh.

    What did you decide to do for Lucy?
    I really like the medusa hat, too. It was the first I’ve ever made. Once I got close to finishing it up I kept exclaiming, “what a cool hat!” It was time consuming, but soooo worth it.

  2. Those are some awesome costumes!! Reminds me of my step-mom – she had some pretty cool home-made costumes for my brother. They weren’t sewn, she took cardboard and drew (one year an M&M, one year a deck of cards). It was great. I love the unique costumes.

    Thank you! I’m afraid I’m enjoying unique costumes so much that I’ll never be able to go back to the usual. I have my work cut out for me for several years to come! (deck of cards, I really like that!)

  3. I don’t think he’s two carrots. I think he’s one of those interesting carrots with a double root. And your story of him announcing to everyone what he is reminds me of a similar little boy who used to do the same thing.

    I thought in this age of baby carrots no one would even remember that carrots often split into several. But of course the gardener would remember. 😉

  4. Your boys are absolutly adorable in their garden patch costumes – Way to go mom, you did an awesome job on the costumes! Far better than I ever did when my kids were small!

    Thank you!

  5. I haven’t had a chance to stop by because I have been franticly sewing too. 🙂 You are far ahead of me though. I just finished cutting out the last costume and started sewing liz’s today. It is all done except for the zipper and hem. So, nearly one done, but three more to go. *sigh*

    I love you costumes, you have done a great job! Dorothy was peas in a pod her first Halloween, and Liz was a pumpkin. I love your carrot – so cute! And of the course those peas are adorable too. Great job!

    Thanks!
    I hope yours are done and you are resting. Four costumes — you continue to amaze me.

  6. awsome. I was getting the carrot vibe but I had no idea about the peas. Good Job. You are far better than I. I was supposed to make them this year and well we bought them instead. I chickened out.

    Good on you for the carrot vibe! I’m impressed. I know we discussed it last year, but you are definitely showing some superb telepathic powers.

    As for your own costumes, I wouldn’t consider it chickening out — I can’t imagine doing costumes for three people!

Leave a Reply

