Drowning

The good:  Little Red is all better.  He hasn’t had an episode since yesterday morning, has had all normal bodily functions, and is eating solid foods again.  I’m so glad.  It was hard to see him sick, as he’s ill so rarely.  When he first got sick he was screaming; he had no recollection of ever vomitting (last time was with the rice cereal at 6 months) so to wake up in the middle of the night doing that was horrifying.  “Mummy, I spit up!”  he said so sadly.

The bad:  Boy Blue is sick this morning, so I guess it was a bug after all.  Or he’s having a reaction to yesterday’s shots, or a reaction to the amoxicillin.  And yes, he does still have his cold, too.  There’s nothing like starting with a cough and finishing with a shower.

The ugly:  While my internet connection is mostly workable, it still cuts out at inconvinient times.  My phone service is out again.  I was able to email the father of the student whom I tutor to cancel our session today (I have his work email so I trust he’ll get the message) but I have an appointment this afternoon which I need to cancel and can’t contact them.  More frustrating than not being able to cancel this appointment is the principle that once again I’m paying for service I don’t have.  Having a connection with the outside world should not feel like winning the lottery. 

Edit: employer didn’t get the email as he was not in the office today.  Got a confused phone call from the mother at twenty after five.  Her English is very poor but now I have the home phone and the husband’s cell phone, should this ever happen again.  I called her husband and he understood what I was saying, and kindly said, “take care of your baby.”

5 thoughts on “Drowning

  1. Ok, your last line made me chuckle – one of those “I completely understand” chuckles. I hope that Boy Blue gets better quick and that you and your husband don’t catch it. And I hope that your connections to the outside world resolve themselves.

  2. Oh I’m so sorry. We just went through the sick stage last week and I HATE it. Poor little guys…and poor you! I hope you all get better soon!

  3. Hmm…I’m going to go wash my hands after I comment here—we’re all healthy and I want it to stay that way!! No passing internet germs!!! 😉

    I hope everyone feels better soon! I’m glad that the family is understanding of the fact that you have children that need you.
    Hopefully your internet will be reliable again soon!

Leave a Reply

