Looking Back, Looking Forward

One of the reasons I had such a hard time blogging in December was that every time I did I started channelling myself from last year.  Last Christmas was definitely my most difficult holiday.  I knew this year was different and I was doing everything I could to try to keep it that way.  If I had known last year what this year had in store for us, I’d have given up.  Yes, there was a lot of good this year but when the year started I was already so tired.  If I knew how many more trials were waiting for me I would have collapsed.  I didn’t think I could handle one more thing.

That’s the beauty of faith and hope: you hope the good will prevail, and you have faith you can make it through the hard stuff.

Good stuff of 2007: 

  • Boy Blue was born, happy and healthy.  We’ve had nine wonderful months with him.
  • Little Red is a loving big brother
  • My husband finally finished that pesky degree
  • We saw all six of our parents and two of our three living grandparents
  • My husband transferred to a more satisfying job position within the company

There’s more, too, but I’ll stop there.  It has been a good year.  I look forward to 2008 being even better.  I’m doing so much better than last year.  I know that with a little bit of discipline we can make a lot of good changes in our lives.

3 Responses to Looking Back, Looking Forward

  1. feathersky says:

    Boy, do I know how you feel!!! About 3 seconds after the ball dropped in NY last night Nathan said, “AHHHH, now we can start repressing all the memories of 2007!!!”

    Repress those memories Heather 😉

    We also had a lot of good things happen this year…But holy cow, if I had known beforehand what a bad year 2007 was going to be I would have curled up and slept through the whole thing.

    2008 is going to be our year. I can feel it 🙂

    I really hope you’re right. It’s your year for sure, but I do hope it’s mine as well.

  2. Karen says:

    Happy New Year, Heather!

  3. Happy New Year. It sounds like it’s getting off to the right start.

Leave a Reply

