Renting Rant

(I’m sorry in advance for the whining.)

Are people idiots?  Seriously.

In our 9-unit complex we’ve had the following problems in the past year+:

* someone dumped two bags of cement down the drain wherein lies the pump to keep the garage from flooding

* someone had been feeding the local cats to ensure our pet problem

* someone (probably the philantropist who had been feeding the cats) tied open the humane trap so the cats could get in, eat, and leave while our landlords paid rent on a glorified feeder

* someone broke the lock to tamper -several times- with the timed lights in the garage

* someone keeps inviting their friends to park in the garage in such a way that it makes it virtually impossible for me to get in or out

* now that the cats are no longer using the lavender beds in front of my door as a litter box (most of them are up for adoption at the Pasadena Humane Society — they’re cute, please take them home!) my neighbours are using it as an ash tray.

Blurg.

5 thoughts on “Renting Rant

  1. I hope that it isn’t too much longer until you can get into a house. I am soooo glad that we aren’t renting anymore. People in apartments can just be so rude! You didn’t put “incessant noise from RockStarNextDoor” on your list…has he finally calmed down and gotten a job? 🙂

    The cement down drains and stuff would be the reason why I wouldn’t ever want to rent out a house. The monthly rent would be nice income…but man, what if you get one of those idiots that thinks that diapers are flushable?

    I can’t say whether RockStarNextDoor got a job (I still have my doubts.) But I believe someone put the bug in his ear because the incidents have greatly decreased.

    I don’t think I could ever, ever, ever rent out my place. Additional income or not, it’s too much risk.

  2. Yes, people are idiots. But there’s a difference between stupid idiots and mean idiots. I don’t know which make worse neighbours. But you do seem to have more than your fair share of stupid idiots, that’s for sure.

    I certainly hope it’s a larger than normal concentration. If this is really an accurate cross section of the population then I weep for our society.

  3. I soooooo don’t miss renting an apartment! Sometimes, however, it doesn’t seem to matter if you are renters or owners… in a house or an apartment… you can still end up with idiots for neighbors. In Preston, some people across the street would let their dog out every morning (eeaaaarrrrrllllyyyyyy) and watch the dog poo in other people’s yards. I was LIVID. My yard was for my CHILD to play in. Ew!

    Here’s hoping you’ll be in a new place by the end of the year… one with minimal idiots. 🙂

    Thanks. I’m not even sure that’s what I want. Could I stay here, pay less, and have less idiotic neighbours?

  4. I like Karen’s comment – it’s great! 🙂 Yes, hopefully sometime soon you wil be able to leave the appartment idiots behind and get yourself a new set 😉 but hopefully the idiots will be fewer (and farther away)

    But there will always be idiots, won’t there? 😉

Leave a Reply

