Dating Again After All This Time…

It was our first date in two years, and only our fourth date since becoming parents — yikes!  We had to do something quickly or we would have slipped from happily married to dysfunctional.  If anything, I’m sure we could have kept the “fun” in dysfunctional, I still think I’d rather stay happily married.  I digress…

Paul’s parents have sent us some money for a romantic dinner.  Last year we used it for a membership to the Aquarium.  This year we decided to actually go out to dinner.  We went to McCormick and Schmick’s.  Yum!  Paul had some Santa Barbara swordfish and I had some South African Black Ruff.  It was so nice to be out without wrestling with children’s menus, sippy cups, and crayons.  We were a little embarassed, though, when we realized that it had been two years since we’d been on a date.

TWO YEARS!

I’d like to add to my new year’s resolutions that Paul and I take at least one more date just us this year.  We love the boys and we love taking them with us, but we need time just us.

8 thoughts on “Dating Again After All This Time…

  1. haha, we’re the same way! We almost never go on dates just us. I could probably count on one hand the alone dates we’ve had in the past 3 years (not including temple trips). But in all truthfulness, I really enjoy the kids going with us! I *love* family dates 🙂 Granted, part of that is because we’re past the sippy-cup n diapers stage, and the kids almost always behave really well when we go out. I’m glad you got your date with a nice dinner–sounds yummy! 🙂

    Yes, we really love taking the boys with us. That’s usually how we celebrate our anniversary.

  2. I would go insane ! – I don’t know how you do it. Even if we are broke, Paul and I will hire a baby sitter for an hour ($4) and go for a walk. We do lots of family stuff and dates, but I just love my time with hubby.

    Woah, you only pay your sitter $4 an hour?

  3. We used to go out to dinner twice a week when my son had his karate class and it really made a difference in our relationship. When the karate school he attended had to close, my son didn’t want to continue with another school, so that was the end of our dates. I miss the time we spent together. We still have a date every once in a while, and it’s always wonderful, but it doesn’t have quite the same effect as regular outings.

    Maybe when the boys are older and involved in activities you and Paul will be able to spend that time together too.

    Twice a week? That sounds really nice.

  4. What?? Is that true? I should be grateful of all the family I have around here. I guess it only gets harder with more than one kid.

    Yes, be very very grateful that you have so much family nearby. Even when our family comes in, we’re so happy to see them that we don’t dump the kids and take off we want to be with them, too!

  5. I know we live kind of far away, but if you ever want a date out in this direction (maybe a trip to Palm Springs) drop the boys off here!

    I hope for your sake that by the time I can afford a date in Palm Springs you are no longer living out there. 🙂 But thank you for the offer, I really appreciate it! I wish we lived closer to each other.

  6. Two years!! My goodness! My mother in law was just here last month and she basically made us go to a movie. She was only here for three days!! I know how you feel about going out without having to wrestle with the kids. It’s nice to have mommy/daddy time! Good luck with your resolution. It can be hard for just time together, but when it happens, it’s the best!! We try to go for more time together as a couple, especially since our timetables are so incredibly different right now. He works during the day, then I take the keys and head to work for the night. He’s ready for bed or already in bed, depending on his schedule and I try to get to bed soon, but it’s not “quality” time. Since having number two, I’m finding that quality *me* time is at just as big a premium. Grocery shopping without the kids is a treat…I never thought it would be so much fun to browse the produce section without a kid in the cart!

    Take care!!

    I’m happy enough just doing grocery shopping with only one. (During preschool.) I know what you mean about time to yourself. Currently I’m online instead of starting supper — I just don’t want to start working again with both boys sound asleep. (*happy sigh*)

  7. It’s hard to go out on dates. You feel guilty for leaving the kids with a sitter. You feel guilty for leaving the sitter with your kids! You start to worry about how much you’re going to have to pay the sitter! How much is the whole night going to cost. It comes out of the grocery budget you know! AHH!!! I’m glad you went out! You deserve it. I’d watch for you if I were closer!

Leave a Reply

