(not)Following Inspiration

On Saturday night, as we were saying our prayers, I immediately thought of my pregnant sister-in-law.  “We need to pray for Nancee!”  I exclaimed to Paul.  It should be no surprise, then, that on Sunday morning she was on my mind.  I knew I needed to call her, but I thought instead of calling right after church I would call at suppter-time.  After all, if it was I who was pregnant, I’d be napping.  I didn’t want to interrupt the precious sleep of a mother-to-be.

At suppertime my mother-in-law called to say that Andrew and Nancee had gone into the hospital to be checked for leaking and that while her water hadn’t yet broken, it while they were at the hospital and she was admitted.

I could have kicked myself.  Why didn’t I call her and let her know I was thinking of her?  If I’m not careful, I’m not going to keep getting those little thoughts to reach out to those I love.

Nancee is proving my theory that tall people have shorter, easier labours.  Hers was one third the length of either of mine, and now she has a healthy, gorgeous little boy.  I’m so excited!  I’m so excited that I can’t even wait to go to Vegas and meet the little guy!

2 thoughts on “(not)Following Inspiration

  1. I have been guilty to of not following those little thoughts – sometimes I forget, or sometimes I think I’ll have better timing if I wait, like you did. And then, I feel the same way. It is a good reminder to follow through on the thoughts and feelings we have. 🙂

    Congrats on your new little nephew! 🙂

  2. Except for my first labor (which was posterior (sp?) so it doesn’t count), I would be with you on the taller people having easier labors. I hadn’t really thought of it though.

    I need to be so much better at listening to those nudgings myself.

    Are you kidding? I think you’re the queen of following inspiration! How many times do I get messages on my machine that start with “I was doing the dishes and the thought just popped into my head that I needed to call…”

Leave a Reply

