A Little Piece of Peace

I know I go all over the place with my rants on so many ridiculous things about California.  I don’t take back any of those things, but I’m compelled to go on the record as saying that there are a lot of things I really like about living here.  I’m still not-so-secretly hoping that we’ll settle in Seattle or anyplace less hot than here, but in the meantime I’m actually quite happy here.

I have the opportunity to make a little money while staying home with the boys.  It’s very hard work and it’s not a lot of money, but it feels so good to befinally improving our family’s finances.  It’ll be a while before we’ve undone all the damage that living here has caused, but just knowing we’re on the path is a very good thing.

We have amazing friends.  While we’ve had good friends everywhere I feel like we have the best support networks (more than one!!!) here than anywhere.  They are so uplifting and inspiring. 

I think we’ve settled on the kindergarten program in which we will enroll Little Red, next year.  I have to wait to do the school tour in September, when school starts up again but Jen and I are already planning on being the first two people on the list when enrollment opens in March.

There is so much going on these days, but LIFE IS GOOD.

4 Responses to A Little Piece of Peace

  1. Lisa B. says:

    I’d love to hear which school. That’s great!
    Lisa

    I think we’ve decided on the Spanish Dual Immersion program down at Edison. Keppel’s Korean program is our second choice, and we’re in the district for Keppel’s regular ed, so that’s a nice back-up plan. 🙂

  2. Philosophical Karen says:

    I’ve read about the school situation you are faced with, but it’s not something we had to go through here. I’m guessing it’s a load off your mind to have it figured out. Glad to hear that life is good. 🙂

    Well now I’m endlessly curious as to what you read. . . hmmm . . .
    I’m fortunate to be one block within the boundaries for a good elementary school, and I’m on the ball enough to know I wouldn’t be on the waiting list for public school. But in our particular school district we have several immersion programs, and, well, you know how I feel about those! It was a long decision narrowing it down to a #1 choice and a #2!!!

  3. Dana says:

    I’m happy to hear that you’re happy. It’s funny, I was just complaining to Casey today about stuff and he reminded me that we shouldn’t live our lives in a “things will be better when…” mode. I couldn’t agree more. And then I went into similar verbage as your posting here. I really happy with my life. There are just things that annoy here and there.
    Yes, California does have much to offer also!

    I came about things in the same way. We only moved out here “for a year” so I wasted a lot of time feeling temporary. When I realized that kindergarten was only a year away I realized that we live here until we don’t. It really helps to not think “things will be better when…” doesn’t it?

  4. feathersky says:

    I always think “things will be better when…” I really ought to stop and enjoy the moment more! We’re zoned for a bad elementary and even the advanced programs still keep the kid in regular classes for 90% of the time. So I’ll keep homeschooling until I can find a program I agree with 🙂 (But, man, sometimes I’m envious of the mom’s that have kids gone for half the day at school!!!)

Leave a Reply

