I’m Here Until I’m Not

I fell off the wagon.

Hello, my name is Heather, and I’m addicted to realtor.com.  I had been clean for two months but I slipped again last week.

This time I moved our family to Anchorage, Alaska.  I even figured out which neighbourhood we’d likely move, and I investigated the schools.  I was already planning the weekend vacations we could take from that little spot of heaven.

For kicks and contrast I also moved us to south Atlanta, Georgia.  Although the cost of housing is half of what it would be in Alaska, it shouldn’t take an advanced degree to guess which location was most appealing. 

I was doing well for a few days.  I thought I had found the right balance between fantasy and reality.  But on the third or fourth day my perspective began again to be skewed and I knew I had gone too far.  I actually really like it here, and when/if we leave it will be very difficult.  I need to live now, here.  This is my life.  Alaska can wait.

(sigh)

One Response to I’m Here Until I’m Not

  1. dana says:

    I’m glad the moving agenda has started up again! I enjoy hearing where you’re “off” to.
    btw, unrelated…but we came to Glendale to go to the pool around 3:45. I got everyone out of the car only to realize I’d left the swimsuit/towel bag at home on the table. So we went to the mall instead. Lucy couldn’t stop talking about swimming though.

Leave a Reply

