My Mosh Pit

With September came many changes, including the dates of my playgroups.  My Friday group moved to Monday and my Monday group moved to Thursday.  I’m still getting into the new routine, but I think the Thursday playgroup is a hit.

I could be wrong, but that’s the assumption I’ve made now that I’m digging out from having twenty (yes, twenty) people over, plus us.  That’s right, in the three hundred square feet that I call my living room, we had twenty-four people and a million toys.  It was definitely the most people I’ve ever had in my home.

It was bedlam.  Some of the little ones were overwhealmed, but for the most part it was a lot of fun. 

Sometimes I get tired, and think I don’t want to go through the effort of hosting playgroup, of cleaning, and cleaning, and then cleaning again after all the children leave.  It’s exhausting.  But I think so much about why playgroup matters to me, and why I’m doing it in the first place, and I don’t mind so much.  I’ve gotten to know people I wouldn’t have known so well any other way.  We share concerns, find solutions, we laugh.  The children get much-needed social interaction.  (The mothers get much-needed social interaction.)

I’m pretty tired.  I’m not going to finish cleaning, and as soon as I can get Aiden down for his nap I’m going to lie down, too.  I’m donating blood tonight so that’s a bit of a necessity at this point.  We had some people show up today who don’t normally attend (some from out of town, even) but there were others who didn’t come, whom I missed.  I hope it isn’t 24 people every Thursday from now on, but if it is I consider myself to be very richly blessed, and will plan on napping every Thursday afternoon.

3 Responses to My Mosh Pit

  1. Allison says:

    it was a fun time. thanks for hosting it. whenever you need a break from cleaning and then cleaning again … i’d be happy to host it and give you a break.

  2. Karen says:

    Another day, another blog name. ;0)

    I constantly admire your fortitude. You do so much with your time. You should be proud.

  3. feathersky says:

    I love playgroups! They are worth all the effort!

Leave a Reply

