Oops

Yesterday was a pretty busy day, but I was committed to the blood drive in the evening, and looking forward to my one hour alone.  (Truthfully, by the end of yesterday I was counting down to my time not being touched, and even left home a bit early.)  I had tried to take a nap in the afternoon, but you know how it is with children, the more you want a nap, the less likely you are to get one.  I didn’t get much rest yesterday.

But other than feeling tired after a long day I felt fine, and went.  I even saw one of my old YW and had a great visit with her, faking out the Red Cross workers because I wasn’t sitting in the appropriate waiting area.  I finally got my turn, half an hour later, and chatted happily with the workers.  I felt fine until the end, when my arm started to feel a little uncomfortable, and the girl checking my bags admitted that she was having a hard time getting the sample vials filled.  I started to think that maybe I hadn’t had enough to drink, but it was a bit late for that.  I pulsed the squeeze ball in different ways and finally(!) we filled the vials.  No sooner was it complete did I feel suddenly, incredibly, hungry.

By the time I got to the canteen table I did not feel well at all.  I sat down, had a sip of water, and rested my heavy, hot, disoriented head on my hand.  Mary Soloman, the volunteer from our church who was managing the snacks said immediately, “Heather, are you okay?” pressed some icy towels in my hand, and went straight for a Red Cross worker who swooped on me immediately, mopped me down with icy towels, and helped me on to a cot that had miraculously appeared beside me.  It was all so fast, and it didn’t take too long before I realized that I was no longer going to pass out.

It took me a long time before I really felt better, and twice after I sat up I had to lie back down.  I felt so chipper once I realized I could string a sentence together but it was a while before I could do much else, like sit, walk, or eat my cheez-its.  Vicky Knight was at the canteen at this point, and chatting with me.  She told me, when I was sitting up, how much better I was looking, that I was getting the colour back into my face.  By then the copious amounts of water I consumed were coming through and I ambled on to the bathroom.  I was looking pretty ghostly so I can’t even imagined what I must have looked like before!

I was very grateful of the quick response.  I guess everyone was on high alert because earlier in the day someone had had a really bad reaction.  (Reactions can range from dizziness, hot and cold flashes, fainting, vomitting, all the way up to a seizure, which was what happened to that other person.  It’s a normal bodily reaction to fluid loss, but scary nontheless.)

Vicky offered to drive me home, but as we were about to leave I started feeling a big flood of “better” and decided to drive myself; she followed me home just to be safe.  And I was, I was fine.

The moral of the story?

* up fluid intake the 24 hours leading up to a blood donation.  I had consumed my normal amount, but forgot to drink the extra glasses of water.

* rest up before donation.  I tried, but it just wasn’t working for me.

* be well.  I woke up this morning with a sore throat and some sinus trouble.  Blast it all!  All that work is for nothing and I have to call the Red Cross and tell them to destroy my donation!

Today we’re watching the entire PBSkids morning lineup.  After naps it’ll be a toss up between Robin Hood and Peter Pan.  Although if we’re good, maybe we’ll watch both.  Aiden and Janel are home sick today, too, so it’s just me and my boys, and a whole lot of television.

5 Responses to Oops

  1. Karen says:

    Well, I’m glad it wasn’t any worse. Luckily they were on high alert (but not lucky for the person who was the cause of it, I guess). Too bad about your illness the next day. Hope you are feeling better soon.

  2. Andrea says:

    Yeah, Jack kept asking why you were laying down again. Good thing Mary was on the watch. Too bad it the only thing anyone got out of it was a lesson on fluid intake and they cant use the blood. next time!

    I LOVED hearing Jack’s narrative of my progress! It definitely helped me feel better. I hope he’s always around when I’m about to pass out. Or … if he can’t be, I hope I never get so close to passing out again.

  3. mcinsane says:

    I’m proud of you for donating blood! I’ve never done that! I’m glad you made it out ok, and I hope that your day of TV was fabulous!

  4. feathersky says:

    Why can’t they use the blood?

    I’ve never donated blood. I’ve tried to several times and been turned away for random reasons so I haven’t been back. Probably ought to try again.

    People who receive blood transfusions already have compromised systems and other complications. The last thing they need is to be exposed to more germs. The blood that is donated must be completely clean. If a donor gets sick within 48 hours of donating, the blood is usually destroyed.

  5. You are a brave women! Look forward to keepimg in contact more

Leave a Reply

