I Can’t Vote, but If I Could . . .

I dislike being political in public, not just because I am not legal to vote, but also because I am so tired of people who misunderstand democracy and a person’s right to vote as their conscience dictates.  I hate that awkward silence when someone says “how could you possibly vote that way?” or worse, the intolerance, and violence.  I dislike confrontation of any kind.

But it is exactly because some of the items on the ballot this year are so polarizing that I have chosen to document my opinions on a few things.  And that is why I am closing comments on this post.  You don’t need to tell me how you are voting, nor do you need to leave hateful comments about my decisions.  I may not be voting, but this is how I choose to support two items.

Proposition 8.  In California in 2000, voters approved and supported the traditional definition of marriage.   Only months ago four activist judges decided to overturn the will of the people and legalize gay marriage.  I believe in supporting the will of the people.  On a personal note, I also believe that marriage is a sacred covenant between God and a man and a woman.  Despite my strong beliefs, I have struggled greatly with my decision to support Prop 8, not because I wavered in my beliefs, but because of the polarity of the issue.  There are so many people who are working to make this a very divisive issue, and I don’t believe that by being for prop 8 makes me against all those who are not.  I have some very dear friends and family members who are gay.  I love them and I want them to be happy.  However, I know in my heart that the word marriage is defined as being between a man and a woman.  (and I think, between God.)

President of the United States.  I think John McCain has served his country honourably over the years, but when I hear him speak, he does not put me at ease, and while it shouldn’t be an issue, his age is an issue with me.  Sarah Palin is young and fresh, but having been the mayor of Wasilla doesn’t really impress me.  She has a young child with special needs, as well as four other children who need her.  I want to see her at the park with her children, and helping out in the classroom.  I agree with what George Romney told Mitt, raise your children before you enter politics.  Family comes first.  I would like to see her re-enter when her children are grown, and I think then she may be a force. 

I do not support Obama simply because I don’t like the options on the other side.  I have been listening to him for years and he speaks to me.  I’m not going to go through line by line of what I like, but I do feel that he is the president we need at this time.  I believe he has what it takes to get us through these very difficult times, and I know he can mobilize and inspire the younger generations of Americans.  My family will be in better hands under the presidency of Obama.

On November 4th we will be with our friends, supporting Prop 8, at their PrObama party.  If we lose on either of those then we will not destroy political signs or throw a big fit; the will of the people will have been made known.  I just hope that come November 5th, our state and our country can get back to working together for the greater good.

Comments are closed.

