It’s the Little Things that Make Life Big

How could I have known, last spring, when I found the perfect gift for Big Jack on clearance at the perfect price, that when his birthday rolled around in November we wouldn’t have a job and thus no money for gifts?  I just saw what I wanted at a good price and snatched it up.  I had no way of knowing that I’d never see another such item at Target again.  It sure was nice to put together a present I knew he’d like without stressed about the payment.

How could I have known, in the fall, when I paid the deposit on our family photos, that on the day we took the photos my husband would have been out of work for five weeks?  I paid over half of the money upfront to ease the burden of holiday spending, and have since made arrangements to barter for the remaining balance.  Yesterday’s photo shoot was additionally serendipitous, although the day began as a 90 degree day, thwarting my wardrobe plans for the middle of November, when we arrived at the location at 3 pm it was comfortable and cool.  Additionally, the ash from the local fires did not cloud the sky and permeate the air until we got back into the car to drive home.  What luck!

This week I have been really struck by how many little things were taken care of before the drama to enable our family to travel through this difficult time with as much normalcy as possible.  It reminds me that if the Lord is taking care of such small things as making sure that Jack gets Automoblox for his birthday, and we get family photos, then I know that He will take care of the big thing, and that a good job is coming.  I need to not pay attention to the news reports that unemployment jumps every week; I need to not think about what that means for the number of people fighting for the same jobs as Paul; I need to not worry that EDD has only sent us a cheque for one week although we were owed four.

This week I have been struck by the little things, and I know that the big things will work out, too.

One Response to It’s the Little Things that Make Life Big

  1. feathersky says:

    I went to a Time Out for Women conference this weekend, and one phrase in one talk really stuck out to me. It was “Do I have enough blessings to be happy?” Obviously, that’s a yes. I’ve been thinking about that a lot and realizing that I need to stop whining about the one blessing that we don’t have (even though having a job is a huge blessing and everything in our lives hinges on it), but to be thankful for all the blessings I DO have. Awesome kids, one more on the way, love, family, the gospel, good health, etc, etc.
    The Lord’s looking out for us. It won’t be long till we’re FORMER members of the wives with laid off husbands club 🙂

Leave a Reply

