Tastes Like Christmas

Growing up I spent every other Christmas at Dad’s. During many of those years he was a bachelor, and lived and ate as such. We always had Honey Nut Cheerios for breakfast, Kraft Dinner or sandwitch stuff for lunches, and we usually had supper at a restaurant (White Spot comes to mind but I know we ate at more places than that.)  Around the house for snacks -or meals- we always had mandarin oranges and those fantastic chocolate turtles. I remember most the mandarins and turtles, boxes of them, when I think of Christmas (and food!) at Dad’s.

That fledgling dwarf citrus I bought in February and forced into maturity because I just needed fruit this year did indeed produce six perfect mandarins. By the time they were ripe they were too heavy for the branches, resting on the ground as they grew. Two weeks before Christmas they were ready. Paul and the boys harvested the six oranges for which we have waited all year.

They were perfect. At first bite I flew back to my childhood. Those oranges tasted like Christmas. They were gone by Christmas day, but were such a sweet addition to our homemade Christmas. I am already anticipating next year’s harvest (hopefully more than six!)

Christmas Mandarins

3 thoughts on “Tastes Like Christmas

  1. Wow, so impressive! We used to have those oranges, and Turtles chocolates (and usually a box of Quality Street), at Christmas, too. We always got one in the toe of our stockings. Which were nylon stockings as I recall. That seems silly to me now, but if you think about it, it kind of makes sense. You can fit an awful lot of loot into a stretchy nylon stocking. 🙂

  2. I eat more oranges at Christmas than I do any other time of year. 🙂 I am impressed that you grew your own. And I have to say, I just love your home made Christmas! Have a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

