In My Spare Time

After only a year of deliberation I finally took the plunge and opened an Etsy store.  I’m a big scaredycat and needed ABQ to hold my hand through the registration process.  The process is not hard, but making it official that you want validation and sales is nothing short of terrifying. 

(Even though I know that running a micro-business on Etsy if fairly low risk.)

I considered calling my shop “In My Spare Time” but then it would be EMPTY, but I didn’t want to stick with the business name I’ve used for the local boutiques because I’m quite bored with it.  So I dug out my favourite children’s poem and called the shop Wynken, Blynken and Nod.  (If you have not read the poem, read it now.) 

Anyway, it’s slow going getting samples of everything made up, photographed, and posted, but I’ve finally gathered enough courage to tell my family and friends.  I don’t want anyone to feel obligated to purchase something, I just wanted to let you know what I’ve been up to.

Deep down inside me there’s a confident grown up trying to get out, but the insecure adolescent is still Queen, so if you have any comments, please be kind!  (Or, as your mother used to say, “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”  Because mother is always right.)

3 thoughts on “In My Spare Time

  1. Well, good for you! I cannot imagine why someone as together and talented as you would feel the need for hand-holding, but if that’s what it took, then so be it. It’s about time, I say!

  2. that’s awesome. and the name is awesome. YOU’RE AWESOME!

    too much? heh.

    seriously, i wish you the best of luck. i am constantly “going to do” this and that but by the time i’m ready to dive in, i’m also ready to move on. LOL

Leave a Reply

