Cyclic Vomiting Syndrome – out

In a few very short minutes, the Gastroenterologist with whom we met this morning banished the tentative diagnosis of Cyclic Vomiting Syndrome we’d been given at the hospital.

He’s not overly worried about the vomiting (especially with Boy Blue asymptomatic right now,) but is very concerned with Boy Blue’s weight, and lack thereof. Whereas I was happy to see that he gained seven ounces in the past week, when we look at the charts we can still clearly see that no healthy two-year old should weigh 23 pounds, or even 23 pounds and 7 ounces. Because the trend of falling off the curve goes all the way back to the little guy’s infancy (8 months,) the doctor wants to fix this before anything else.

He has some ideas as to what is going on, and we’re running more bloodwork before we proceed so I’m not going to list what we’re looking for here. No need to worry all you vicarious hypochondriacs out there!  In the meantime we have to try to get him to drink one nutritional supplement drink a day. And he’s officially labled:

Failure To Thrive.

(I know it’s a clinical diagnosis, but seriously — how is that not supposed to make me feel like a neglectful mother?!?)

6 thoughts on “Cyclic Vomiting Syndrome – out

  1. You are so right. How can the words “Failure to Thrive” applied to your child NOT make you feel like it’s your fault? At least you are normal. Hope you get some peace of mind sooner rather than later.

  2. I personally think that the “failure to thrive” diagnosis is a lot like the “ADHD” diagnosis… way over used, and it doesn’t tell you much!

    Ever try home made protein shakes? I have some great recipes I could give you. When M was so tiny, I really did my homework and we got her weight up really fast! Let me know if you would like some ideas 😉 Like you said, he will be fine!

  3. FTT is such a loaded label. I hope you guys can figure out what the issue is. I know it’s gotta be nerve wracking in the mean time.

  4. That’s not a pleasing diagnosis to hear, I’m sure. Here’s the thing I don’t get. I always wonder this with London, since she’s so small too. Don’t doctors realize that even adults aren’t all the same size? Maybe he’s just a little guy. Not everybody can be in the 50th percentile. Why should babies all have to be the same size to be healthy? Their parent’s aren’t. Anyway, sorry about the rant. I’m just always told how small my child is and that I need to feed her more (at least I was when we were going to WIC). And, by the way, “failure to thrive” doesn’t mean “failure to mother properly”. You’re a fantastic mother.
    ~Kiersten

  5. I’m just glad you guys are in good hands and that it is going to be figured out. If there were something going on with my kids I would want the doctors you have. He’s hoping there’s a diagnosis before the next episode. We love you!

  6. I don’t know if this will make you feel better or worse, but my sister has a 10-year old who is still carrying the diagnosis of “failure to thrive”. He has tons of energy, is very smart and except for the fact that his is small acts and looks normal – whatever that means. I am going to assuem they have eliminated celiac and parasites as possibilities. (You may already mentioned that, but I can’t remember)

    In case you ever wonder, you are an AMAZING mommmy.

Leave a Reply

