If Music Be the Food Of Gods …

Last Sunday I played a solo in church. It felt good to be practicing again, and it felt good to play.  I like myself better when I’m playing; my posture is better, my mood is better, my outlook is brighter.  I organize my time better, and I make clearer priorities.  I am able to reconnect with the person I have been since I was five.  It feels good to play.

I didn’t realize it had been so long since I last played in church, but some of the people who used to know I could play, had forgotten.  Gil even told me “you’ve been hiding your light under a bushel.”  Yikes!  So I thought about it, and realized that it had been several years.

I’ve always struggled with doing musical numbers in church.  I demand that the piece has enough substance to it that it interests me as a performer, but I often worry that it would be too ostentatious, or – worse – that people will think I’m doing the musical number to show off.  This week I was able to see that the music made people happy, and that as I shared my life’s work with others we were all edified.  For the first time I didn’t worry about someone thinking I was pretentious.  I just presented my offering for everyone to enjoy. 

It’s so much easier to get out of the apartment to practice now that the boys are older.  I will do another musical number.  Soon, I hope.  It feels so good to play again.

5 Responses to If Music Be the Food Of Gods …

  1. feathersky says:

    Do you play piano? What song did you play? I’m glad you got to perform! Wish I could have heard it! (next time sneak us a youtube video of it) 😉

  2. Karen says:

    Great to hear! It’s good to reconnect with what brings us joy. I’m glad you are taking advantage of this chance.

  3. zoo says:

    good for you. and sounds like good for everyone else, too.

  4. abq mom says:

    “If music be the food of Gods, play on.” Shakespeare. (That used to be the signature line on my email a long time ago.)

    I’m so glad you had a good experience with your musical number. I am sure it was beautiful. I’m happy that you are happy, and that everyone else enjoyed it as well. I would never think of your playing as pretentious, I’ve seen other musical numbers that were definitely pretentious.

    I know the song you chose, and I look forward to the day that you and Shane can play his arrangement together in church. (you know, over the rainbow, someday)

  5. Zen Mama says:

    ABQ, it was your signature that made me think of it as a title.

    Yes, I, too, look forward to the day when we can all do musical numbers together.

Leave a Reply

