A Tribute to the Bassinet

When we moved to California, pregnant and practically penniless, I was overcome with gratitude when Lisa offered to lend us her bassinet.  I didn’t care the condition, I was just grateful to have something more than a laundry basket for our new baby.  I was very pleased when we picked it up to see it was such a nice piece!

The bassinet had dutifully cared for her three children before she lent it to us.  And since we didn’t have a crib right away we pushed the recommended weight limits, as it was such a cozy place for Little Red.  Finally we returned it to its original family.

When I was pregnant with Boy Blue Lisa again called me and offered the bassinet.  Her fourth had outgrown it and she was done.  This time, would I please take it for good?  Use it until I was done and pass it along?

Again, I gratefully accepted.  And it was a cozy bed for Boy Blue until he moved out of my room and into the crib.  Before I got around to passing it along, Daytime Brother entered the mix and again we pushed the weight requirements. 

Finally I conceded that it was time to pass along this beloved piece of furniture, and Miss Ella made it her home for several months.  Her family is in charge of storage for it now, to use until they are done, and pass it along.

If you’ve lost count, this same bassinet provided a cozy bed to eight children, and it still looks as good as it did the first time I saw it.  Kudos to the good people at Graco, you make a fine product!

bassinet SMALL FILE

 

EDIT:  (thanks for the info, Lisa!)  Before Little Red used it, the bassinet had also been used by another family.  This bring the baby count up to 9.  Way to go, Graco!

6 thoughts on “A Tribute to the Bassinet

  1. that’s funny, I have a bassinet that’s been making the rounds too. I’m glad it’s had a great life! You really made the most of it!

  2. That’s great! I have a little crib (about the size of a cradle) that belongs to Taylor’s grandma. She used it on her kids and has passed it on to a lot of different people. She thinks it’s been used for close to 50 kids. I think that’s an exaggeration since it’s maybe only 60 years old, but still. That’s a lot of kids. I’m sure the bars are too far apart to meet safety standards of today, but I’ve used it for both kids (with a bumper) and it’s treating us well. I love hand-me-downs.

  3. Just to keep the count accurate – another family used it, I think before Red. So, that makes 9. 🙂

    Also, we ALWAYS pushed the recommended weight limits.

    Thank you for helping us with storage, and for eventually taking it off our hands. It is a wonderful thing to have, but it just takes up space when you no longer need it.

  4. That’s how ours is too…but only 7 children. I think things like that get better with time and love!

  5. We had that exact same bassinet! It was given to us, and we loaned it around before selling it on craigslist a few months ago. so to my knowledge it has held 8 kids, and it’s still going!

Leave a Reply

