Black Magic

You may notice that I did not make a resolution to lose weight this year.  It isn’t that I don’t need to, I need it more than ever before, tipping the scales almost as much as I did at the peak of my pregnancies.  (gulp)  It’s just that I’m working first to fix the underlying causes of my eating, paving the way for a healthier me.

Every morning as I dress I stand in front of the closet and wonder what I can wear that still fits.  Yesterday I chose the same wraparound skirt I’ve been wearing almost exclusively for months, paired with a new black top which I purchased on sale, the old black top having gotten a little too threadbare to be modest.  Yesterday a woman who sees me at least on a weekly basis and has known me for the whole five and a half years I’ve lived here, asked me if I had lost weight. 

There’s magic in new clothes.  That’s right, folks, you can purchase a little bit of magic for ten dollars.

3 thoughts on “Black Magic

  1. Yeah, things are funny that way, aren’t they? I won’t tell you *my* theories of what is going on when that same thing happens to me. I’m just glad you were able to get yourself something new to wear.

Leave a Reply

