Today’s Taxes

Now that we are getting back to normal after the flood, I sat down to finish my taxes this morning. I solved my earlier problem (and it only took three different worksheets and an hour or two of my time!) and waded my way through to the end of the federal taxes.

When I saw the amount I owe (since Janel pays me directly for babysitting I don’t have any taxes withheld) I started to cry. I had that money in the savings account, it wasn’t that big of a deal (although I can think of a LOT of things I’d rather spend that money on!) I do really hate spending money.

But more insulting than forking over the money was all the hullaballo they put me through to make me backtrack and put in new numbers. At one point I was looking at a pretty decent refund (several times more than how much I owe,) and then I suddenly had to recalculate with new numbers, redo the same stuff on other lines, and then take the small of the two numbers (which was a lot smaller!) What was the point of the previous 45 minutes if I had to redo the work again with bigger numbers?

I guess it’s true what they say, the IRS really was designed to make us miserable. I’m just glad I have a friend at HR Block who is willing to look over my work and make sure I don’t have any major blunders. With her signature at the bottom I’m less likely to have an audit, which is one headache I could do without this week.  It feels good to know that I’ve got people.

3 Responses to Today’s Taxes

  1. aprilmommy says:

    I prefer doing Turbo Tax, yes I have to spend money to do it, but I think it is worth the not getting a head ache over taxes!

  2. Karen says:

    Well, at least it will be over for another year. (Blink.)

  3. feathersky says:

    Yeah, I’ll pay just to have turbotax do everything–especially with the adoption paperwork and all that! Its baffling how confusing they make taxes!!!!

Leave a Reply

