The Good and the Bad

It’s been a long time since I’ve felt like we were moving forward with the potty training. Urinating is fine so long as I take him to the washroom frequently enough, but he has developped some fear to doing number two in the toilet. Underpants? fine. Diaper? fine. Toilet? NEVER! It started as a control thing but I think he was working on making it a full-blown phobia.

Needless to say, we were elated when he got out of bed last night to announce his intentions in the washroom. Taking turns, we sat with him, read stories, sang songs, for an hour before things happened, but as he listened to his body he was finally successful.

The bad news is that it was nearly ten p.m. when it happened.

Today, all day, I’ve had only two questions on my mind.

#1: will he repeat it?
#2: is it naptime?

2 Responses to The Good and the Bad

  1. Ewokmama says:

    I’m still just so happy to have Jack peeing in the toilet that I don’t even want to think about the next step! An HOUR? 5 minutes on that thing seems long…

  2. sleepyfrog76 says:

    I have horror stories about Parker and the potty right now. Dana and Shane can attest to it. So I’m not going to discourage you with my own troubles. I’m just going to say “good luck!” and hope that you actually get some (since I’m not)!!

Leave a Reply

