Aromatherapy

I’ve lost track of how long it’s been that I’ve been making our family’s bread.  I know that when we were all sick two New Year’s ago we bought a loaf of bread from the store, and I don’t remember it being new that we were making bread.  So has it been two and a half years?  That sounds right.

I guess it doesn’t even matter how long it’s been.  What matters is we’re doing it.  Every week.  The short-term benefits are easy to see: we are eating one less product filled with preservatives and things we can’t pronounce.  We may be saving a little bit of money when I make the white bread, but we certainly aren’t when I make the brown bread.  We aren’t doing this because of money.

It’s part of a bigger picture, though,  master plan, if you will.  I want my children to know how food is made and where it comes from.  I’d like to be doing more gardening so the boys become more connected with the origin of their produce, but even our measly orange crop has filled that purpose well.  As that tree is a part of our lives and they help water and fertilize it, they’re learning about its cycles, and they can see how fruit grows.  It gives them a little bit of connectivity with what they put into their mouths.

Even more important and more abstract than connecting the boys with their food is the importance of infusing scent memories into their childhoods.  I hope that when they are grown they will remember hearty, tasty homemade meals as a regular thing.  I hope they will remember that we made our own pasta sauce as a family, every month.  I hope that when they get a whif of bread baking they will drift off in memories of a happy, wholesome childhood.

I really hope that when they think of the smells of their youth they’ll remember the bread.  That’s much better than what I hear these days.  “Yuck!  The smell molecules from the baby’s diaper are coming into my nose and it is gross!”

6 Responses to Aromatherapy

  1. Kiersten says:

    I’ve been making bread for about that long too, though I’ve bought it more times in the last 3 months than I have in the last 2 years. Which reminds me, I need to make bread today. When you make brown bread, do you grind your own wheat? Because if you do, that should also save you money. Plus, it’s more healthy.

    One more question, do you have your citrus tree in a pot? I’ve been wanting to buy one, but am not sure how big of a pot to buy or if I need to plant it in the ground.

    I wish you guys lived down here. We could have so much fun together!

    • Zen Mama says:

      You’re right, we live so close but NOT CLOSE ENOUGH!
      I don’t grind my own wheat. I prefer to use white whole wheat, which is delicious and healthy and not as heavy. But red wheat is delicious, too. I do not have the space or the supplies to grind my own wheat, although I do understand the benefits.

      If you watch the flyers for Osh or Home Depot you should be able to get a dwarf citrus (for a pot) for around $20. I think ours was $22? They come in a 5-gallon pot. And I happened to have a larger one already on my patio when it was time to transplant. I don’t know what’s going to happen when we move, I don’t think there’s enough pizza in the world for the EQ to move that big heavy thing. (although … it can’t be more than our bookshelves. I remain optimistic that our tree will move with us whenever it is we move. This is not an announcement of us moving.)

  2. feathersky says:

    I think I started making all our own bread sometime after we lost Sariah, but before N’iel got here (cuz I remember his birthmom pulling one of those split second looks when she wanted a sandwich and all I had was *gasp* wheat bread haha). I use about 2/3rds red wheat and 1/3 bread flour (white) and it’s not too heavy. Nathan’s dad got me a wheat grinder for my bday a few years ago so I grind it all myself too. And then my brother got me a kitchen aid for xmas so now I’m in bread making heaven!

    This post makes me smile cuz i was totally thinking of doing one similar to it last week. Have you seen Jamie Oliver’s food revolution TV show? I’ve only seen maybe 2 episodes (its on hulu) but I was watching one and he’s asking this 1st grade class what basic foods are–like tomatoes, potatoes, onions, etc. And the kids were totally stumped!!! Their parents don’t make food from scratch!!! That bothered me so much and it’s just a reality TV show! Like you, I need my kids to know where their food comes from. I want them to see me buy fresh ingredients, and then taste them at work in homemade meals.

    One of my happiest things is letting the boys have a slice of just-out-of-the-oven bread with honey on it and seeing them smile over it, smell it, savor each bite, and I know that someday….
    their wives cooking will never live up to their mom.

    MUAHAHAHAHAHA!!! 😉

  3. Karen says:

    Saw a post that’s gone now. Just thought I’d lend my support. Don’t know when exactly it was written or how it got into the blog feed, but hey. I know where you’re coming from.

    • Zen Mama says:

      it should be posting on Saturday. Accidentally hit post instead of schedule. 😀 Was going to post in the morning, but I’ve rescheduled it because we have big bug news tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

