Whirlwind

The trip up was wonderful. The seat beside me was empty so I could stretch out and put my feet up. I read. I napped. I did whatever I wanted whenever I wanted on my direct flight into Edmonton. It was the most I remember ever enjoying flying.

We went straight to the church to help decorate. And my high school friend who has since moved to Edmonton showed up at the church to help us. We worked hard, we stayed late, we were happy.

The wedding day was as all wedding days. It was beautiful. It was full. (Yet we managed to squeeze in time for some of my younger siblings to watch UHF and laugh at most of the important places.) James married a lovely girl, and he is clearly very, very in love with her. It was quite touching.

At the evening reception I sat between my closest brother (he and I were both without our better halves for economical reasons) and my best friend from my childhood, whom I hadn’t seen in 17 years and who has coincidentally since moved to Edmonton and had worked for the father of the groom for a while. She is exactly the same for all of her good traits. It was amazing, uplifting, and intimidatingly perfect. I talked too much and too loudly to compensate for my own insecurities.

Once the day was done, and the hall returned to it’s pre-wedding state, I, too, was done. All I wanted to do was go home. I was exhausted, and I missed my family dearly. Paul had taken the clean laundry out of the dryer and placed it on my side of the bed so he could sleep. I was sleeping in a single and had no such option.

Returning to Canada always makes me happy, and I love to visit with my family. But they have moved to Edmonton. Edmonton is not home, and I couldn’t wait to leave.

I awoke on Sunday morning with Eli’s sore throat, and an eagerness to get out of the prairie and back to my family. It is a real shame that the trip home was not as good as the trip up.

5 Responses to Whirlwind

  1. aprilmommy says:

    Dave and I always joke about the fact that when one of us is gone, the other always creates a “surrogate” by placing laundry on the other side of the bed. I just can’t sleep without him!

  2. Karen says:

    I have never done that (the laundry thing)! Of course, laundry wouldn’t be the same anyway. It’s very quiet and it doesn’t give off near the amount of heat.

  3. Zen Mama says:

    I have never done the laundry thing. When Paul is away I sleep diagonally across the bed (no grooves in the matress) with my head on his pillow. I actually sleep very well that way!

  4. feathersky says:

    When Nathan’s gone I get to sleep all sprawled out without worrying about kicking him in the back all night! I even had a dream last night that we bought a bigger bed. haha My subconscious is telling me we need to upgrade to a king size bed to accommodate my need for sprawl 😛

    I’m glad you got to go to the wedding. And…BADGERS?! BADGERS?!?! WE DON’T NEED NO STINKIN BADGERS!!!!!

  5. mcinsane says:

    I’m glad you had a good trip and that you were excited for it to be done so you could get back to your family. That means that all is pretty right in your world!!

Leave a Reply

