Have I Done Any Good in the World Today?

Last night Paul and I finished watching “The Blind Side.”  (I say finished because most movies take us more than one night to watch, not for any fault of the movie’s, but by the time we get the boys in bed we don’t have much time before I crash.)  The previews made it look pretty skimpy in the quality department, like it was some cheesy thing thrown together with a couple of one-liners and Sandra Bullock playing a woman who never smiles.  I didn’t like the previews, but I really liked the movie.

It goes well with the book I’m reading this week, “Three Cups of Tea.”  Since you already know my preference of non-fiction over fiction I’ll spare you that.  This book isn’t a page-turner because I’m wondering if he’ll survive his current predicament (kidnapped in Waziristan, or visiting the Afghanistani border the week of September 11th, 2001); I know he lives.  It is a page-turner because of what he does, what he’s able to do, and how he does it.  It’s thought-provoking.

The unifying theme from both of these two great stories really makes me think about my own life.  So what if I donate blood?  That’s nothing compared with what so many people in the world are doing for the lesser-fortunate.

5 Responses to Have I Done Any Good in the World Today?

  1. Kiersten says:

    I loved that movie. I never saw the previews since we don’t have a TV, but I thoroughly enjoyed the movie.

    I need to start at least giving blood. Our stake is having a blood drive on Saturday and I’m considering going. I’m such a chicken, though. But I shouldn’t be selfish with my “everybody can use it” blood.

    • Zen Mama says:

      Take a book with you.
      I’ve donated blood many times and I know it really doesn’t hurt that much, but I can work myself up over the initial prick (which is hardly anything at all and the Red Cross does it better than any other vampire out there.) So I distract myself with the book and then I hardly even notice what’s going on. It also helps to pass the time, as it takes me 20 minutes or so on the table for them to get what they need.

  2. feathersky says:

    I can’t remember if I’ve recommended this book to you yet. You’ll like “Left To Tell” by Immaculee Ilibagiza. It is a really fantastic true story. 🙂

  3. Andrea says:

    Oh heather, you have done so much good for our family I can’t even begin to tell you. The the things you do for us all the time may seem small to you, but they are huge to me.
    Andrea

    • Zen Mama says:

      That’s funny, that’s how I feel about you every time we get together. You always say exactly what I need to hear. I can’t even get my head around the how of how you do it.

Leave a Reply

