Rest

It’s amazing.

Paul got home at a normal time last night and it didn’t bother me at all that all he could talk about was the car he’s going to buy (yes! BUY!) on Thursday.  It’s all he’s talked about for weeks and finally yesterday it wasn’t driving me crazy.  Don’t ask about the car, more on that after the fact.  The point is, I was able to do my visit with Rachel sans children.  We got Stewie’s Shave Ice, walked laps around the Americana and miraculously spent an hour doing only those two things with absolutely no interruptions.

This following a great first lesson and chat session with some old friends.

It’s not that when I need a break I want to go spend three hours at a spa.  I don’t even need 20 quiet minutes to meditate (although that would be bliss.)  All I ask is for a break from “he took my toy!” “I want a banana!” “why can’t I?” and my “please stop sucking your thumb” “why don’t you try to use the toilet?” “please go to sleep.”  An hour or two of calm conversation with grown ups and I suddenly feel like myself again.

Riding that happy train I loaded up the boys and went to conduct my very first presidency meeting.  The boys played well and mostly left us alone, and when Paul got out of his meeting early he switched cars with me and took the boys home.  My dream team, for their part, is dreamy, and we finished our whole meeting in 1 hour and 20 minutes which is altogether not bad for how many things we had to cover.

I think the sky is even more blue and clear today.

4 Responses to Rest

  1. onemorequirk says:

    same sky, different view. 🙂

  2. mcinsane says:

    I’ve started going walking in the mornings before the kids wake up, with my neighbor and best friend here. It has really made a difference in how I approach the day and what I know it will bring! Time for us as mothers is VITAL! So glad you had some!

  3. feathersky says:

    ahhhh, sounds like a good day 😀

Leave a Reply

