Wednesday

Here I am, on a quiet Wednesday morning. It is a perfect 68 degrees outside, the sky is blue, the sun is warm, the squirrel is looking for my neighbour’s daily bread scraps that she leaves for the birds. It’s a perfect Wednesday morning and I am inside, trying to take advantage of my sudden availability and get done all those things that haven’t quite.

Boy Blue seems to be doing better now. It’s been six hours since he started vomitting but he’s eating now and I think it’s been an hour since he threw up. My brain is all over the place. Of course I’m trying to stay calm, to not go there, to that terrible place that immediately conjures up the first half of ’08. So I’m trying to stay busy doing all those other things that need to be done, and not think.

Instead of sitting on the couch with my sick boy. Instead of taking advantage of this time to just be with him.

I’ve got so many different things going on right now, more pies than thumbs if you ask me, and sometimes I think I can do it all: segment my time and thoughts and be supermom. But what good is supermom if she is too busy to actually be mom?

The world can wait. My sick boy and I are going to watch pbs all day.

2 Responses to Wednesday

  1. Tara Beckstead says:

    I’m so sorry. I hope you don’t have to go through that all over again. How long has it been since he has done this?

    • Zen Mama says:

      It’s been a while. And the good news is: it only lasted through morning! We’re back to normal. And anyway, that couch cover needed to be laundered, he just gave me the impetus I needed.

      I hope you guys get well soon! 4 weeks is too long!!

Leave a Reply

