Strangers

Today as I was buckling Boy Blue into the car after preschool a man appeared out of nowhere to humbly explain his situation to me. He must have said at least three times to please not call immigration but that he was illegal, he just came over from Mexico (on his way to Salt Lake City,) and that he didn’t want money but was really, really hungry.  Incidentally, his English was as good as many of the residents in town.  Unfortunately I was without food, or I’d certainly have given him my apple. He then asked if he could wash my car? But I didn’t even have a dollar. I wished him good luck and he was gone as instantly as he had appeared. I’ll be thinking of him for days, there was something so singular in that moment.

(***edit: then tonight when I was taking home one of my councillors after our presidency meeting we passed a friend of hers who is currently living in his car, and has been for the better part of last year. Heavy thoughts tonight, but also many prayers of gratitude.)

2 thoughts on “Strangers

  1. Wow. Those situations are so hard. I don’t know what I would have done it approached. Once again, you are such an example to me. THANK YOU!

  2. I hope that man found someone with a spare sandwich! Something like that happened to me in nashville once and I was in the same situation–no cash on hand and no food in the car.
    Poor guy. Whenever I think about how poor Nathan and I are, all I have to do is go for a walk and look across the border into Juarez. At least we’re here in the USA. Doesn’t matter if we’re poor, at least we’re not living in a war zone. We’re SO blessed!

Leave a Reply

