Preschool: P

P is for puzzle

As the children entered I had age-appropriate puzzles laid out for them.  I expected us to play for 15-20 minutes.  We played puzzles for more than 30 minutes and they wanted to do them again at the end!  Those with previous puzzle experience happily plugged away and those for whom is was very new enjoyed the challenge.

Reading Time (P is for Pop and Pumpkin and Pebble and Pizza)
but I didn’t have time to read all the “p” books I had on the shelf

“Hop on Pop” by Dr. Seuss
“The Littlest Pumpkin” by R. A. Herman, ill. by Betina Ogden
“Sixteen Runaway Pumpkins” by Dianne Ochiltree, ill. byAnne-Sophie Lanquetin
“Pizza Counting” by Christina Dobson, ill. by Matthew Holmes
“Sylvester and the Magic Pebble” by William Steig
“ABC” by Dr. Seuss

P is for Paint

Using oversized paper the children painted masterpieces.  I think they loved the freedom, no longer confined to a small 8 1/2 x 11.

P is for Pear and Pineapple and Popcorn and Peanuts

No food allergies in the group so we feasted on “p”-only foods.  It was a pretty balanced spread for a themed snack, if I do say so myself.

In a word, today was perfect.  And I didn’t even have time for Piano time, or the Peacock craft I had planned.  We didn’t even have time for Playdoh.

Leave a Reply

