A Cookie is a Sometimes Food

Listen:
This isn’t rocket science.
Or brain surgery.
Or astrophysics.
This is basic. It’s as basic as it comes.
When you eat better, you feel better. When you eat junk, you feel like junk.

You know how it feels when you haven’t been eating well; you feel bloated, tired, a little depressed. It’s okay to have a treat every once in a while, but if your daily diet includes too much of that there will be consequences and your body will not hesitate to express its displeasure.

It’s the same with everything else in your life.

I notice it a lot with music. Sometimes I log into pandora and tell the website that what I want to listen to is solo piano music. I think I’m going to get a bunch of Bach and Beethoven and what I get is a bunch of new-agey stuff that all sounds the same: schmultzy and insipid. It isn’t too long before my brain feels mushy and my body feels the equivalent of a week of “travelling food.” If that music is junk food, I can usually fix it with some Bach, my plate of vegetables, and soon I feel like myself again.

Likewise, I see this with my spiritual self. I can fill my mind with all sorts of learning and leisure, and after a while I feel like I’m bloated, sun-bleached driftwood. It’s not hard to regain focus, purpose, and self-esteem, however. When I rededicate myself to real study of the scriptures, and I feast on those words of life, I come back to life.

Cookies, popular music, and leisure activities are all fine in moderation, but only as side dishes. Without the main course, we are malnourished and sick. Without taking care of our bodies, our minds, and our souls, we are nothing. Cookie monster has received a lot of flak for turning away from mindlessly consuming cookies and instead singing that cookies are a sometimes food. Personally, I appreciate the change and hope that my children will remember those words of moderation throughout their lives. I could use the reminder now and again, myself.

Leave a Reply

