All Hail Social Networking

Today is our twelfth anniversary and Paul has a show. I am going to attend, of course, and we made reservations to have dinner beforehand. Two hours before I planned on leaving I got word from my babysitter that her family had planned a surprise birthday party for her and she would not be able to babysit for us. I left a couple of voicemails, ignoring the inspiration of one friend whose name kept popping into my head because I didn’t want to bother her, and finally posted on facebook that I needed a last minute babysitter. Within seven minutes, the friend whose name I kept ignoring and I had made all the arrangements for her to take the boys. There are two lessons here. The first, of course, is that I need to stop ignoring names that pop into my head. The second is that social networking can be a powerful tool for good.

Leave a Reply

