True Story

Red asked why their trash can was in their sink. I explained that I’ve been trying to get rid of the smell in their bathroom for a couple of days.

“Here,” I said, holding the can toward him. “I cleaned it out this morning and even now it still smells like pee.”

Red agreed with me that this was gross.

Blue piped up, “that’s because people have been peeing in it.” I held my cool amid the swirl of sputtering thoughts.

“Who has been peeing in it?” I asked, calmly. Calmly. We want honesty and interrogations don’t help.

“Me,” he replied so matter-of-factly that I couldn’t even believe we were having this conversation.  Of course I had suspected as much this morning when I was taking out the trash but the idea was so absurd I thought there was surely another explanation.

6 thoughts on “True Story

  1. My three year old, who is fully potty trained and has been for some time now, has taken to peeing on the cement in our unfinished basement because he doesn’t want to come upstairs. My five year old girl has even joined him on occasion. It infuriates me!! I hope your trash peeing episodes stop quickly!

Leave a Reply

