Preschool: Monsters

(Not a Monsters, Inc. segment, a stand-alone monster lesson that I did a couple of days before Hallowe’en.)

Monstrous Storytime

“Things That Go Boo!” by Joe Fitzpatrick, illustrated by Paulette Rich Long
“Ten Monsters in a Bed” adapted by Rozanne Lanczak Williams, illustrated by Kathleen Dunne
“Monster Baby” by Dian Curtiss Regan, illustrated by Doug Cushman
“Where the Wild Things Are” by Maurice Sendak

M is for Monsters

I had to split the group in half as our class has grown and doesn’t all fit around the table.

Half of the children created monsters with my potatohead collection while the other half worked at the table. While at the table, each child completed and coloured an “M is for Monster” sheet and then designed their own paper bag monster puppet.

Monster Snacks

I made chocolate macaroons with M&Ms on top to make little monsters.  They were a real hit.

Monster Puppeteering

We had several puppet shows with all our new monster puppets: the paper bag puppets they made and the monster puppets I made out of an old scarf and old shirt I found at the school’s yard sale the weekend before.

Monster Mash

I had been playing my Halloween playlist as a background for our activities but some of my more sensitive children found O Fortuna from Carmina Burana scary.  As a compromise, music not so scary but still festive, I set Monster Mash to repeat and played only it for the rest of the time.

3 Responses to Preschool: Monsters

  1. Karen says:

    I think I want to be a preschooler. 🙂

  2. onemorequirk says:

    me too! and i promise not to steal all the cookies. just most of ’em. 😛

  3. atkins diet plan…

    […]Preschool: Monsters « Simply, Me[…]…

Leave a Reply

