phone

With how many times I’ve sent our family phones swimming I’ve been very diligent to baby our current equipment. I was astounded when my phone went on the fritz last week because I hadn’t even dropped it in a very long time. Both myself and the customer service lady on the phone were convinced it was the phone and not my sim card since I could still access the info on my card but couldn’t do anything with the phone.

So a dear friend sent me one of her unused phones. I couldn’t even get to the main screen on hers, let alone pick up a signal.

Finally Blue and I were able to get to the store this morning. Paul, who used to work for the company before it was even called TMobile, concluded it must be the sim card being glitchy, and not the phone. He was right!

Today I got the following things: a good walk, a brand new sim card for free, service to my mobile phone again, and that warm feeling that I have wonderful friends. Three out of four of those things individually are enough to make me happy.  The jury is still out about the phone service — does this mean I have to start answering it again? What of those who call my cell but never my home and I may go days without getting the message despite repeated reminders that I don’t check it? And what of those who still text me even though I tell everyone I don’t text?  It’s so much easier when I could just say “my phone is still broken.”

I’m still dragging my feet into this century, unconvinced that a cell phone will change my world.

6 Responses to phone

  1. Kiersten says:

    I’m glad you got it all figured out! Whether or not you’re using the phone I gave you, you can keep it just in case. Taylor bought me an iPhone for Christmas so we don’t have tmobile anymore. And I hear you on the texting. I just jumped on the texting bandwagon a couple of months ago

  2. aprilmommy says:

    Heh, I still don’t have a cell phone. When I tell people that, they look at me like I have two heads.

  3. Karen says:

    Maybe when you have teenagers they will drag you kicking and protesting into this century?

    I mostly use my phone for texting. But that’s because my husband texts me when he is in boring meetings, and I text my kid to get the heck out of school and get in the car so we can go home. Also? Texting another family member’s iPhone is free.

    But before I “needed” my iPhone, I didn’t really need a cell phone and lived quite happily without one. Now, I find it very difficult to live without it.

    • Zen Mama says:

      Karen, I believe you’re right!
      I can certainly see the appeal of texting, but there’s just not enough need for me right now to pay extra for it. I like to keep things simple (and cheap) for as long as possible. But the day is coming … the day is coming …

  4. feathersky says:

    You don’t text? (insert me looking at you like you have two heads) 😉
    haha, I’m pretty sure my phone’s call function died from loneliness…

Leave a Reply

