Hepburn or Hilton?

I found this blog written by a friend of a friend. She’s hosting a giveaway for the book “How to be a Hepburn in a Hilton World.” As a mother of boys I hope to raise them to appreciate women who respect themselves and their bodies instead of putting them on display. (Class instead of trash, people!) You can enter the giveaway by simply posting a comment on the post. You don’t have to win the book to change your life, though. I’m sure I’m not the only one who could upgrade my personal style and uplift myself and those with whom I come in contact. (I might not wear makeup every day, but I can fix the holes in my clothes.)

3 Responses to Hepburn or Hilton?

  1. Karen says:

    Oh my gosh there is so much WRONG with the title of that book! Did the author even read the (auto)biographies of either of the Hepburns? Especially Audrey! She was always portrayed as “classy” in her films, and at that time the studios had strict control over media stories about their stars. The media wasn’t like it is today, so the comparison is quite unfair. But honestly, Audrey Hepburn was emotionally abused by an overbearing husband. Katherine Hepburn wore pants at a time when women didn’t. She lived with a lesbian for years (but we don’t know what the actual sleeping arrangements were) and also conducted an extramarital affair with Spencer Tracy. So forgive me if I can’t take any book with that title seriously.

    • Zen Mama says:

      and you don’t have to.
      I haven’t read the book, but to me I thought it was worth opening up a discussion simply on superficiality. The way we dress has an impact on the way people see us and relate to us.
      I haven’t read the book but I’m pretty sure it’s got nothing to do with behaviour.

  2. mcinsane says:

    In my opinion, which we all know is very, very faulted…Hepburn all the way!!

Leave a Reply

