Playing Tag

I never liked playing tag as a kid.  I couldn’t run fast enough to evade being tagged for any period of time and couldn’t run fast enough to tag anyone else so I could have a bit of a break.  All that running around just seemed pointless to me.  I just wanted someone to talk and walk with me!

Imagine my dismay to discover that Tag has followed me to adulthood in the form of a meme, combining two things for which I have little regard.

I think Kiley hates me because she tagged me on her blog and since I’m a contributor to that blog I really need to participate.  Shortly thereafter Julia also tagged me so consider this post as answering both requests.  Do not take this to mean that I enjoy this sort of thing or that I will be willing to do more in the future.  Future tags may simply result in a link back to this post.

  • You must post these rules.
  • Mention the blogger and make sure you link back to this blog.
  • Answer the questions the “tagger” listed for you in her post, and create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
  • Choose 5-11 people to tag and link to them in the post.
  • Let each blogger know that you have tagged them.
Here are my questions…
1.If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be and why?
That’s a tough one.  We talk a lot about wanting to live in Italy because we love the culture, the language, the history, and the lifestyle.  I’ve started longing to return to Hawaii, missing the spirit of Aloha, the diversity of people and plants, the laid-back lifestyle, and the importance of ohana (family.)  I daydream about living in Alaska and raising my own children on some of the things that made my life in the Yukon so special — snowmobiling to the store anyone? — and because I ache for the Northern Lights.  But really, I just want to live somewhere we can afford (and ideally also has an amazing language immersion program for my children, clean air, healthy lifestyle, and amazing people.)  Growing up I always imagined I’d live in Vancouver, and I still think that would be a fun place to end up.
2. What is your favorite food?
Anything Paul cooks, he’s amazing!  Plus raspberries.  And dark chocolate.
3. What is a product you couldn’t live without?
When I was young my aunt wrote in a letter to my mother “Sarah and Ben are playing with legos, that mother-saving toy!”  She’s right.  I enjoyed legos as a kid but they mean so much more to me now that my boys can play so imaginatively and lovingly together.  I could not live without legos.
4. Who is the person who has influenced your life the most?
The obvious answer is Jesus Christ.  He is such an example of love and compassion and while I fail in most attempts, I will never stop trying to emulate Him.  Just imagine how opressively self-absorbed I’d be without Him in my life, you’re welcome.  Now go thank Him for making me a more tolerable person.
5. Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging to work out my feelings about my c-section and my new life as a mother.  Next week it will have been seven years and while I’m no longer talking (or even thinking) about my scar I’m still blogging to make sense out of the stuff in my head.  If you think I blog for anyone but me, you are kidding yourself.
6. What is one thing you are most proud of in your life?
So far I’ve done a pretty good job of not making a complete mess of my children, and I’m proud of that.  I’m also learning to be proud of myself as a work in progress.
7. What is your favorite book and why?
One favourite book?  Can’t I just say that I love to read?  Almost anything I’m in the process of reading is my favourite book at the time.   I particularly enjoy the nonfiction genre, but there have been some works of fiction along the way that have revived my love of a good story.  Downhill Chance by Donna Morrissey, Shanghai Girls by Lisa See, and The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver are recent reads that come to mind as favourites.  Also:  Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky.  And, of course, The Book of Mormon; the words contained therein bring so much peace to my soul.
8.Would you ever get cosmetic surgery and if so…what would you have done?
I have no desire to go under the knife, but if I did, it would be for a breast reduction.
9. Your most embarrassing moment EVER…
What kind of a question is this?  Obviously the most embarassing moments have all been blocked out of my mind by the trauma.
10. Your favorite Movie?
Right now, Honeymoon in Vegas.  I think I could watch it a million times and still laugh.
11. Who is your favorite blogger and why?
I like Crappy Pictures for a good chuckle, C.Jane for her take on life as a Mormon and a mother and a blogger but not a Mormon Mommy Blogger, Dana from MADE for everything made, Cherry Blossoms for reviews and giveaways (replacing Cool Mom Picks which ultimately went over my head in expensiveness and expansiveness,) and all my dear sweet friends for writing what I really want to read: their lives.
***
I tag YOU for reading this.  If you have a blog then link back to me, if you don’t, then reply in the comments.  Do it now, don’t be a creepy blog-stalker, furtively reading my diary when I’m not looking.
(Yep, I totally broke the rules by not tagging specific people and not making up new questions.  It’s the pianist chasing the soccer players all over again, I just can’t do it.  My legs/eyes/brain are too tired.)
Also, check out my new post on Cherry Blossoms.
3 thoughts on “Playing Tag

  1. Alright, coming out of creepy blogstalker mode (who doesn’t like chain letters of any kind, btw)

    Live anywhere?
    I’d probably choose Utah, not because I love Utah, but because my sisters live there. My parents would have to come also. The problem is, my husband wouldn’t, so other than that, I truly don’t care. I know, boring.

    Favorite food?
    Mexican, ice cream and chocolate (make that wimpy gringa Mexican).

    Ok, this is going to take me way too long. If you really want me to answer the rest of them, I’ll finish up later.

Leave a Reply

