Week in Review

It’s time for a lot of “final things” and I don’t want to forget any of them.

On Tuesday after scripture class I went to lunch at Mozza with my dear friend Ruth. We had a wonderful time. The food was good, the company was better, and Genevieve Gorder was sitting at the bar with only one table between us. I topped off the day with my final PTA meeting, an emotional way to end the day, for sure.  They gave me flowers as a farewell gift that I don’t have to pack.  The boys didn’t notice until the next morning and Paul has yet to ask about the flowers on our table.  (He’s got a lot on his mind.)

On Wednesday Paul finally selected an apartment while I dithered around the apartment knowing this was an allocated period of time to pack but not having a clear plan as to what I wanted to pack that day. I was without focus and motivation. Our new apartment is nice, and new, and full of amenities, but it’s more money than I had hoped to spend and after several experiences on Tuesday I was in no hurry to get my move on.  Wednesday evening I spontaneously got the boys’ hair cut by one friend and then rushed over to another friend’s house to join their ∏ Party.

Thursday morning I blissfully spent my last day at the zoo with my sweet friend Sarah and her two children, 7 & K, who, when combined with Blue, ran circles around us. After Thursday’s piano lesson/playdate I went to the church blood drive. The administrator was the same one who has come for our blood drives for quite some time. She remembered me, and when I left and she wished me good luck I got a little emotional. Really? The red cross administrator? But also, while I was there, all my regulars were there, too, all those with whom I’ve regularly donated (especially Vickie. I will miss Vickie for so much more than this, but this as well.) But Thursday was good because Paul, who had gone up to Monterrey, came home sporting his new temporary tooth and he looks good.

Friday afternoon Sara and I finally had our two-years-in-the-making musical playdate (to which Diana and Luke were added, of course.) We had such a good time and I couldn’t believe we hadn’t been doing that every Friday afternoon all year long.

This morning I have my second-to-last piano lesson with my fairy godfamily before I take Red to the dentist for an ortho evaluation.  Afterwards we’re going to Swork with Marcuccis for a rainyday playte with them. The Salomons are being sealed this afternoon and I hope to attend, and we conclude the day by hosting our final pajama party. Somewhere in there we also need to practice for our family’s musical number tomorrow. And we need to clean up around here.

Oh yes, and my weekly post on Cherry Blossoms is up — if you’ve never been to the Arboretum, then maybe my post will entice you to plan a trip.

One Response to Week in Review

  1. mcinsane says:

    I’ve just done some blog-catching-up. Transition can be a really stinky part of life. It seems like you are trying to make the most of your time left in CA while still looking forward to a new start in TX. I admire you, as always, for your strength and positive outlook. God will always bless you for being such a wonderful mom, friend…just all around person!

Leave a Reply

